For Your Spare Time . . . Simply Seed Stitch Dishcloth


Just a short post to share one of my recent  makes!  ​

I love knitting dish cloths. They are perfect for in-between projects, or where you might need a break from a large one but still want to keep busy.  Any dishcloth can make the perfect take-along project. If you are a beginner knitter . . . well, you have just got to try it!

This dishcloth is such the perfect ‘mindless’ knit!!!   And, the knit/purl bumps will make this dish cloth a nice ‘scrubby’ favorite. Plus, it is completely reversible!

What I have here are the general directions to knit a . . .

Simply Seed Stitch Dishcloth.

Materials: 1 Ball of worsted weight cotton yarn. For example, Peaches & Creme 2 oz/56.7g; Lily Sugar’ n Cream 2.5 oz/70.9g.  (Expect to use anywhere from 32 – 37g of yarn)

Size 6 or 7 needles. (I find that tighter stitches make for a sturdier dishcloth.)

Cast on an odd number of stitches using any method preferred. Depending on the yarn, 33 – 35 stitches (more, or less!)

Row 1: *k1, p1. Rep fr * to the last st, ending with k1.

Row 2: Rep row 1 to desired length. (What happens is, you will always be ‘knitting’ the purls, and ‘purling’ the knit stitches.)

Bind off in pattern, weave in ends.

Your dishcloth measurement can vary depending on your own personal preference. 7 – 8 inches square.  Try playing with stitch and row count to find your perfect size.  Add some rows of contrasting color to use up any ‘fiddly bits’ of left over yarn in your stash.

Another quick note, there is no need for a ‘border’ as this stitch pattern does not curl.  It is perfect just as it is.

Knit dishcloths make the perfect hostess gift for any event you may be attending.  Give a set of favorite colors for the Holidays, special occassions or birthdays for that hard-to-buy-for, ‘has everything’ loved one. They do in a pinch when you need a last-minute gift.  I make a practice of keeping several in a stash.

I thought I didn’t like this color…

I wasn’t really sure where this post was going to go when I took this picture the other day at lunch.  Haha, I just loved this photo so much I thought I would share!  Sorry I didn’t get another shot of the final product but, you get the picture. Anyway…happy stitching!  ~GMa Ellen

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in beginner knitting patterns, diy, diy gifts, gift ideas, handmade, journal, knit dishcloths, knitting, Yarn Destash and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

