Knitting ~ Lattice Lace Market Bag (how I got through it!)


Hey all!!!  I finally installed the WordPress app on my phone!!! Duh! How else to upload photos??? My goodness.  What took me so long? I think I may be inspired to blog more often! The only problem I have encountered so far is ‘capturing’ a photo. It just doesn’t work for me. The camera stops working every time. But, I have no problems adding a photo from my photo gallery. whew!

Here is what I have been working on . . .

Recently, I came across this pattern at Yarnspirations.com called the Lattice Lace Market Bag.  which is a free Intermediate Women’s Bag Knit Pattern. (I was intrigued!) It’s not often I find a pattern I like and immediately go to my stash, and work start to finish. I pulled out a cone of worsted weight cotton yarn which has been patiently waiting to become something fabulous.  😀

If you can do these things . . . you can make this bag:  Cast on; knit; purl;  yo=yarn over;  k2tog=knit 2 together;  psso=pass slipped stitch over;  ssk=slip next 2 sts knitwise one at a time. Pass them back onto left-hand needle, then knit through back loops together;  p2sso=pass two slipped stitches over;  sl1=slip next stitch knitwise;  sl2=Slip next 2 stitches together;

wp-image-1506650952jpg.jpeg

The pattern itself did not call for stitch markers, but I find that this helped eliminate confusion.  There is a row which requires re-placing the markers by two stitches.  Tedious, but I still did not regret using the markers

The bag is worked bottom up, and I always find the beginning of center-out circular knitting so fiddly, but once started I could breathe a little easier.   I altered the method of cast on, however, I don’t think I could replicate it because I didn’t write it down.  I will pull out my handy Circular Knitting Workshop book if I decide to try this pattern again.  (Search, closed center cast on.)  Also, I think I need to try this:  Circular cast-on knitting video with Jen Lucas

I found a way to keep track of the rows, and it was . . . off to the races!  (What other method to you all use to keep track of your lace knitting???)

Isolating the row eliminated any confusion

Nearing completion! But, I am not altogether happy with the border…hmm

.

I definitely like a crochet border. And I will use crochet handles as well. 🙂

I wasn’t entirely happy with the way the top border and handles were turning out.  Tearing back to the top of the bag became something of an adventure! (whoo!!!)

I decided to use my mad crochet skills to finish off this beautiful lace bag. (Ha!) First I did a normal cast off, knitwise.  I found a crochet hook the same size as the needles called for (5.00mm) and crocheted on four rows of single crochet worked into the back loop. Viola!

I also decided to work the handles in crochet as well.  The pattern says to cast on 75 stitches and knit four rows.  So, I chained 75 and am working single crochet (also into the back loop) for four rows.

Yay! I am satisfied with the finished product.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, there you have it!  I hope you all are having the best weekend!  Until I log on again . . . HAPPY STITCHING!!! ~ Love, G-Ma Ellen

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in knit & crochet, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

