My First Attempt at Knitting a Sweater! (Progress)


I am pretty excited about this project!  My first attempt at something wearable.  I was a good girl and made a swatch first.  😛

Free Knitting Pattern: Classic Sparkling Sweater

Lion Brand® Vanna’s Sequins Pattern #: L20329

knitting Classic Sparkling Sweater model

Rating: ***** 5.0 (based on 1 review)

SKILL LEVEL:  Easy (Level 2)

SIZE: Small, Medium, Large, 1X, 2X

Finished Bust 37 (40, 43, 47, 51) in. (94 (101.5, 109, 119.5, 129.5) cm)
Finished Length 23 1/2 (24, 24, 24 1/2, 25) in. (59.5 (61, 61, 62, 63.5) cm)

Note: Pattern is written for smallest size with changes for larger sizes in parentheses. When only one number is given, it applies to all sizes. To follow pattern more easily, circle all numbers pertaining to your size before beginning.

I am using the yarn recommended, which is Vanna’s Sequins Yarn, color: Champagne.  (The last I checked, you can still get a great deal by buying 3-packs!)

This first piece took me 2 – 3 weeks.  Blah!  Hopefully this being completed will inspire me to spend more time on the rest.  What do you all think???

This is the back piece.  Done.  It doesn't look like much now.  But, YAY!  I finished the first piece!

This is the back piece. Done. It doesn’t look like much now. But, YAY! I finished the first piece!

I hope I haven’t ‘jinxed’ it by posting so early in the game.  😀  

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in handmade, Happiness, inspiration, journal, knitting, my list of things-to-do, style, yarn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My First Attempt at Knitting a Sweater! (Progress)

  1. Good job!! Frequently newer knitters are dismayed when their tension in a flat knit straight stitch piece looks a bit odd. Most people knit and purl with different stitches. Often any noticeable difference softens once you wash and block the pieces.

    >

  2. It looks fab. Keep on it.😃

  3. Cathy says:

    I saw an absolutely gorgeo-unning (gorgeous + stunning) square you developed on images.google.com when looking for something special for the center of a knitted afghan square I’m making for and with my Mom. (Knitted, Google!) The caption said, “finally figured this out. Now what to do with it?” I then spent an hour or more combing your blog looking for it to find out what you’d decided, with no luck. It’s fantastic. I can’t wait to see. I’m ‘Unfringed’ on Ravelry, in case you’re interested in finding out who your newest fan is. I’m not as handy with inserting links as you are, in fact I’ve barely joined the 21st century, or I would reference it more directly here. It has a filet crochet square grid, rotated 45 degrees diamond-like, as its center, with four undulating teardrops at each of its corners, and elegantly simple connections on the sides. Good Luck with this thing of beauty, and in all things!
    ~ Cathy :^ )

Leave a Reply

