How to Stitch a Hat: Calculating How Many Stitches to Cast On


I came across this link from Craftsy.com  in my facebook feed this morning.  I thought it so full of useful information I just have to share!  I am only giving you the high-lights, so be sure to click the links to get it all!

Posted by  on Nov 1, 2014 in Knitting | 1 Comments

So you finally mustered the courage to design and stitch a hat. Yay, you! Designing your own knitting projects opens up endless possibilities in your knitting. No longer confined to other’s knitting patterns, you can play with new stitches, experiment with shaping, and get the perfect fit.

Figuring out how to stitch a hat isn’t easy at first, though. Knitting math can be intimidating. Let’s start with the most basic issue when learning how to stitch a hat: How do you calculate the number of stitches to cast on?

1. Measure your head.

2. Measure the gauge.

3. Multiply.

 

Continue reading the entire article here to get all the details:  How to Stitch a Hat: Calculating How Many Stitches to Cast On.

Get the simple hat calculator here.

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in blog links, knitting hats, knitting tips and tricks, My Favorite Things, my list of things-to-do, Tools for my creative inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

