Starting the Mirth Cardi. Crochet project. From Interweave Crochet; Summer 2014


I have been searching for one of these circular type patterns for the longest time.  I am going to give this one a shot.  It really is beautiful.  The pattern says it is an Intermediate level.  (3 of 4).  It doesn’t look too awfully intimidating to me though.  lol

I subscribe to Interweave Crochet Magazine, and love receiving them in the mail!  It always feels like Christmas.  😀

About the pattern:

Working outward from a lacy back motif, this cardigan lasers out into a larger circle that shapes the front lapels. The completed garment is flattering on a range of shapes and sizes for a playful addition to everyone’s summer wardrobe.

DESIGNER Jenny King

FINISHED SIZE Child’s to fit 6 (8, 10, 12) years. Ladies 32-34 (36-38, 40-42, 44-46)” bust circumference. Use size that best fits cross-back measurement for best finished fit.

YARN Omega Yarns Eulali (100% mercerized cotton; 394 yd [360 m]/3½ oz [100 g]): #19 cream (adult), 3, (3, 4, 4) skeins; #31 salmon (child) 1 (2, 2, 2) skeins.

HOOK SIZE E/4 (3.5 mm); D (3 mm) for child size 6 only. Adjust hook size if necessary to obtain correct gauge.

NOTIONS Yarn needle.

GAUGE Adult: first 5 rnds = 6″ when stretched. Child: first 4 rnds = 4″ when stretched (slightly smaller for 6 years).

http://www.crochetme.com/media/p/149520.aspx

Isn’t this just the most gorgeous thing???

I have cones of dark navy blue cotton mercerized yarn/thread.  I have been trying to use it up for years!  So, I am going to attempt using a portion of it on this beautiful crochet cardi.  Here is my progress.  I started it yesterday.  I only had to rip out one row so far!  lol

IMG_5160

IMG_5163

Humble beginnings!

Well, wish me luck.  I hope I haven’t jinxed it by posting…  🙂  I’ll keep updated on my progress…

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in bohemian, Crochet inspiration, Crochet Lace, crochet links, Crochet Magazine, crochet patterns, crochet thread, fashion, I'm A Threadie!, journal, my crochet library, Photo journal, style, thread, UFO's, Un-Finished Projects, WIP, Works in progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Starting the Mirth Cardi. Crochet project. From Interweave Crochet; Summer 2014

  1. Of course you can do it. Looking forward to following your progress.x

Leave a Reply

