Off the Needles…My Blanket of Many Colors!


I am so happy with the end result of this beautiful and simple knit blanket!  In fact, I am in love.  I successfully went through a bit of my cotton yarn stash…although, I am fairly certain that I could easily make several more with what I still have left.  Well, I have a good idea as to how much yarn to use if I plan a bigger, or smaller throw.

Simple and fun!  Knit in the timeless Seed Stitch

Simple and fun! Knit in the timeless Seed Stitch

All rolled up.

All rolled up.

All told, I used approximately 21 ounces of yarn, or close to 595 grams.  (Which, in retrospect, doesn’t seem like all that much.  That’s less than 10 balls @ 2.5 oz. ea.)  Far less than I had anticipated.  Perhaps this is because I spent so many years doing only crochet, which takes more yarn~generally speaking.

The measurements are quite variable, because I used size 11 needles, the blanket is very stretchy!  48″ x 52″ if I just toss it out on the floor without stretching.  It is a perfect size throw for a nap on the couch.  😀

I can’t wait to take this new lovely on an upcoming family camping trip next week.  I will be sure to post some pics.  It will come in handy if the evening and early mornings are chilly.  It makes a perfect wrap as well!  As a matter of fact . . . I have contemplated making a shrug out of it.  Hmm.  Next project???

For my throw I cast on 121 stitches . . . if you use an odd number of stitches, you will always begin and end the row with a knit stitch.  Also note, with this stitch, your project will lay flat, with no curling at the edges.

I have included a video tutorial on how to knit the Seed Stitch (Continental Style)  This style of knitting makes the stitch so much more efficient.  And, I can honestly say, if it were not for Continental Knitting, I would not even be a knitter today.  I may not ever be a Master Knitter . . . but I am certainly a happy knitter!

 

via How to Knit the Seed Stitch – Continental Method – YouTube.

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in completed projects, Cotton Yarn, Destashing, diy, diy home fashion, FO - finished objects, handmade, handmade gifts, Happiness, home decor, home fashion, journal, knitting, knitting projects, knitting video links, My Favorite Things, video, Yarn Destash, yarn stash and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Off the Needles…My Blanket of Many Colors!

  1. kalany says:

    What kind of yarn did you use? Do you remember any of the colorways?

    • Hello Kalany…I used your regular everyday worsted weight cotton yarn. In any color I could get my hands on. This was a ‘stash-buster’ project. And believe me when I say, I have a gigantic stash of cotton yarn. In as many brands and colors as you could imagine. Mainly though, Peaches and Cream, Lily Sugar ‘n Cream, Bernat Handicrafter . . . Lion Brand Kitchen Cotton, Village Yarn Craft Cotton. Those are the main ones.

Leave a Reply

