Progress: Knitting a Blanket of Many Colors


I believe my Blanket is about 3/4’s of the way done.  I am somewhat surprised at the progress I have made, and then wonder, why???  Haha…I have been on vacation all this last week.  Many more hours to devote to knitting!

My mission is to use up a good portion of my Cotton Yarn Stash.  True Confessions:  I went out and bought a half-dozen balls to add a little more variety to my blanket.  GHAHHH!!!  Oh well.  So far, I am very happy with the results.

Showing progress from the top.  I am going to r e a l l y treasure this.

Showing progress from the top. I am going to r e a l l y treasure this.

Just in case anyone is interested.  Here is my impromptu pattern.  I really won’t know how much yarn is needed until I get the darned thing finished.  😀  So, just dig into your stash.  Super simple pattern.  The color variety keeps it from getting too boring.  It’s my favorite kind of ‘mindless’ knitting.

Any brand/combination of worsted weight yarn, in as many colors as you choose.  (Use anything in your yarn stash, as long as it is all of the same type of yarn.  I am using cotton.)

Cast on 121 stitches.  I am using size 9 circular needles.  The result is nice loose stitches. Gauge is not terribly important.

Row 1 and every row thereafter.  Knit 1, purl 1 to the end. (Seed stitch).

Knit until your blanket is about 5 feet, changing colors or combination of colors every 10 – 12 rows until you reach your desired length!  Bind off, in pattern.  Sew in ends.

My stash bucket.  :/  You may or may not have noticed . . . I love to buy cotton yarn by the cone.  Especially when I find a good bargain!

My stash bucket. :/ You may or may not have noticed . . . I love to buy cotton yarn by the cone. Especially when I find a good bargain!  Saves a ton of money.

One last pic.

One last pic.

It looks to be a busy day…so on to it!  Have a good weekend, and happy stitching!!!

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in handmade, Happiness, inspiration, journal, knitting, my list of things-to-do, style, yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Progress: Knitting a Blanket of Many Colors

  1. Jessica says:

    I really like this! The pattern would transfer well to totes, as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

