Pilling is a Pill


A wealth of information. Thank you!

The Sweaty Knitter, Weaver and Devotee of Other Fiber Arts

Yesterday I posted a picture of a sweater, now 39 years old, that my grandmother made for me. To the left is another picture of that sweater – a close up.  Notice that there are no “pills” on the sweater.

Compare this to close up below (best I could do :() of the cabled sweater I knit from a worsted weight 3- or 4-plied yarn (llama or alpaca) some 15 years ago.  It pills.

So why do some sweaters get pills and other sweaters don’t?

Usually shorter and/or weaker fibers of will protrude above the fabric.  When subject to friction (e.g., rubbing), these fibers catch and create little clumps of fibers called “pills.”

Here is a close picture of a sweater knit from a bulky single ply (lopi).  See how hairy it is?  It pills.

Variables:  How much your fabric pills generally depends on a combination of variables, including: type of fiber (soft yarns pill more)…

View original post 418 more words

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

