Feeling Grateful . . . For Family, Friends, and A Little ‘Mindless Knitting’


Hey all!  Seems I have been rather . . . absent as of late.  I am trying to get over that.  It’s been so long I don’t know where to start!

I think first of all I will start by saying how grateful I am to have such wonderful readers/followers!  In the grand scheme of things, I have a very tiny corner of the ‘blogging’ world.  But readership numbers have pretty much stayed level even though I haven’t been posting on such a regular basis.

So, to begin.  Here are a few pics from our now ‘Annual Hood Park Camping Trip’.  Family and friends gathered this year the weekend of July 12 . . .

Hey!  It's ME!  GMa Ellen with Grandson Izaiah.  Getting in a little knitting/visiting time in.

Hey! It’s ME! GMa Ellen with Grandson Izaiah. Getting in a little knitting/visiting time in.  We are sitting on a nice cotton throw I made a few years ago.

What fantastic weather this year . . . last year’s trip was pretty hot.  The wind did kick up on Friday night and stirred up a lot of insect activity.  That was pretty annoying. But, overall, what a fantastic trip.

We sure did miss my husband Mick, who passed away in June of this year.  On Saturday evening, the kids and I had a short but sweet little ceremony to sprinkle some of his ashes in the river, so now it’s official, we have to go back at least once a year.  He’s part of the river now.

I took this photo just after our sunset ceremony to sprinkle Mick's ashes.   So peaceful!

I took this photo just after our sunset ceremony to sprinkle Mick’s ashes. So peaceful!

Getting in a little 'mindless' knitting time.

Getting in a little ‘mindless’ knitting time.  Oh, and look!  In the background there . . . the pocket frisbee I crocheted last year.  The little ones really love them.  Wish I could get the ‘big’ kids to at least try!

066

This organic cotton yarn is fabulous! Too good to be used in the kitchen. Heavenly on the skin.

The playground nearby was a big hit with the kids . . .

Hope you have enjoyed my little ‘photo’ show.  We certainly had a good weekend.  I really do not know what I would do without my dear family and close friends.  They have really been holding me up.

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in camping, Family Fun, Happiness, journal, Knit and Crochet, knitting, Photo journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Feeling Grateful . . . For Family, Friends, and A Little ‘Mindless Knitting’

  1. starproms says:

    So glad to see you back again and busy with your knitting and your family. Condolences for the loss of your husband. I’m glad you have a family to support you during this time 🙂 I’ve never heard of a knitted frisbee before, but isn’t it neat? My little grandson would love that too. Much love to you from England and do keep on blogging. You are as dear to us as we are to you x

  2. Sounds like you are exactly where you need to be – good for you. It looks lovely!

  3. Verónica says:

    So sorry to hear about your husband.

  4. How lovely to see that you are not hiding away and attempting to get out and about….the photos look lovely. I know that i am hear whenever you feel able to post. Take your time. xxx

  5. I am very sorry to read about the death of your husband. The knitted cloth you showed is my favorite pattern to use for my facecloths.

Leave a Reply

