Reaching Out . . .


Today’s post has nothing to do with crafting.  This is sensitive material, so you may want to stop reading here.  I apologize, but I am posting the worst kind of news a family could receive.  It helps me to share, so I would ask for your help.

♥ When we were new ♥ April 25, 1977

♥ When we were new ♥
April 25, 1977

My husband Mickey Joe and I have been married for 36 years.  We were married on April 25, 1977…many moons ago!  We were unable to celebrate this event because he had been feeling very under-the-weather.  Stomach pain off an on again for a few months.  Then, it kept him in bed for 5 days.  Of course I worry.  He has had ‘liver’ issues, but thought that it was being ‘managed’ as well or better than expected.

Long story-short.  I finally convinced him he needed to see his Physician.  The Dr. sent Mick to the E.R. directly for some blood work and a CT scan.  The results came back – CANCER.  Bad news to be sure.  We went home and contemplated..the dreaded “C” word.

We mentally prepare ourselves to face this diagnosis in whatever way is necessary.  Chemo, whatever.  No such luck.  The diagnosis is Stage IV Liver Cancer.  The prognosis is 3 – 6 months.  The Cancer is very aggressive.

What is left to us is to come to grips with it, and cope as best we can.  This devastating news has brought our family closer together than I thought we could ever be.

We have three grown (BEAUTIFUL) children and 7 (the best we could ask for) grandchildren.  The task at hand is to live every day to the fullest.  Of course Mick is quite fatigued all the time, and is in pain constantly.  But, we are taking it one day at a time.  Hospice is such a great comfort in helping us understand.

Sometimes, I feel like this is some kind of cruel joke that life has played, that I am dreaming and I just want to wake up!

I would simply like to ask each of you to send up your prayers, how ever and to whomever you see fit.  Each day gets better…until it gets worse. 

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Reaching Out . . .

  1. Hook & Linen says:

    OMG MY Dear Gmaellen. I feel you pain and you have my prayers and more. .I Know there are no words at this time that can comfort so sending you ,your family and Mickey the biggest cyber hugs.
    Squeeeeeeeeeeze xxx Julianne

  2. Diane Fryer says:

    Thinking of you all at this very difficult time. I’m not religious, and don’t pray, but on a support group I used to belong to for fibromyalgia, we had this thing where we would all send our positive thoughts to whomever needed them. We were quite surprised sometimees to find out how helpful these collective sending of thoughts could e to the recipient,and with a lack of explanation, or a single religion,we decided to callthem MJ’s, short for ‘Mumbo Jumbo’, as it seemed thee best we could come up with at the time. Even now, 12 years on, some of us might ask for MJ’s for someone to help them through a difficult time.

    So, the thoughts I am sending to you here, are not just random thoughts, but actually tried and tested MJ’s. I hope they help, even if it is only to bring a little comfort and acceptance. Getting your head around something like this is oftten more than half of the issue. I’ve received some pretty nasty, life threatening diagnoses myself over the past couple of years, and I’m held back by that extremee fatigue you mentionied, which is really frustrating when you have a time limit.

    Please know that I understand and appreciate what you are currently going through, and if you would like to talk to someone other than emotionally involved family members, please feel free to contact me any time. You can never have too many support options at a time like this, so please consider me as one of your options.

    Take are, and keep in mind that there will be lots of MJ’s floating on the wind to you rom north west UK.

    Love & hugs……Diane

    • Thank you so much Diane. You have no idea how much I appreciate it. I am a firm believer in the Power of Positive Thinking! We have both pretty much let go of all of the ‘toxic’ personalities that have been in our life. We were just getting settled-in to a ‘quiet’ time in our life.

      I do have a pretty broad support system, but I knew if I reached out to my blogging community, I could find solace here too.
      Thank you again! I can feel the MJ’s now…

      (I love that – MJ’s. Is it coincidence my husband’s 1st and middle initials are M.J.?)

  3. So sorry to hear this. I’m relatively new to your page. I will keep you and your family in my prayers at this time. Alondra

  4. Ah, the saddest news. It’s hard to keep trying to be strong even while it’s so painful to endure. Am sending good wishes and virtual hugs to you and your husband, and know that it’s wonderful that you have such a loving family around you. x

    • Thank you very much for your kind words. Yes, I am so grateful for family right now, I don’t know what I would do without them. And freinds have been a wonderful resourse of support as well. Thanks again…

  5. I was really sorry to read this on your facebook page last week. You have definitely been in my prayers and will continue to be. Please try to take some time to look after yourself during this time. You need your strength. Hugs. Xxxxx

  6. Nancy gambill says:

    Hugs, love & prayers. We just went thru hospice with my dad, they were wonderful.

  7. Ohh, that is awful. You are absolutely all in my prayers.

  8. starproms says:

    Yes of course you have my prayers too. What very sad news. After such a long marriage you will suffer with your husband and need as much support as you can find. Please do share your sorrow with us if it helps. I’m listening… I was married to my first husband for 36 years so I know how close you two must be.

Leave a Reply

