Navajo Knitting (or Crochet) . . . Triple Strands From One Source.


I have been going crazy with this method of tripling yarn.  It is ingenious!  I am posting this to show you how it’s done.  Later on, I will share some of the projects I have been working on using this method.  It is so great for destashing!  I have also been experimenting with knitting a triple strand of linen thread.  So far, I love it!

Knitting is shown in the video, but you can certainly use it just as effectively with crochet.

So, take a look and maybe tell me what you think.  I love it!  (Is this considered ‘upcyling’???)

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in crochet, crochet tips and tricks, Destashing, knitting tips and tricks, knitting video links, My Favorite Things, Video links, Yarn Destash and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Navajo Knitting (or Crochet) . . . Triple Strands From One Source.

  1. This works swimmingly in crochet. I proved that at three o’clock this morning when I read the post, and had to grab a hook! THANK YOU for posting this! We really can learn something new every day, and this is an, “I learned a new thing today!” gem. To think, all these years, I had to have at least two skeins for a three-strand blend. This is amazing!
    Wendy

    • \o/ I am always happy to share unique and useful information when I find it. 3 o’clock huh!? Well, we certainly cannot stop creative inspiration! 😀 I have been going non-stop with this technique as well . . . knitting and crochet. I love it! I tripled up with some of my massive cotton yarn stash and made a beautiful bag/basket, another on the hook. Pics to come . . .

  2. Pingback: Navajo Knitting (or Crochet) . . . Triple Strands From One Source. | Schmoozelfleugen!

  3. Almost forgot! If it’s coming from yarn that was reclaimed from an old sweater or blanket, or if it’s coming from felted and cut up wool sweaters, etc..it’s upcycling. New term for recycling…

  4. daniellajoe says:

    Gma you always find gems!!! I like the method 🙂

  5. LOL, I’m eyeing my thread stash as we speak…

  6. Reblogged this on G-Ma Ellen's Hands – Adventures in Crochet and Knit and commented:

    Got a lot of response to this the first time-round. 😀 Just sharing it again. Navajo knitting, makes one strand of yarn into a triple strand, as you go. Easy-peezy!

Leave a Reply

