Crocheters Are Intelligent, not Stupid or Ignorant


I came across this thought-provoking article at crochetville.com which I think you should have a look at.  I would love to hear your thoughts on the matter.

It brings in to question the intelligence of those of us who crochet.  I happen to feel that creative people, overall, are very intelligent.  This would be whether you crochet, knit, embroider, tat, or whatever . . . the list goes on and on.

Oh, and by the way, I would also love to know if this ‘unknown’ publisher ever gave a public apology.

Amy Shelton’s article starts out:  “I was recently part of an online discussion with a crochet designer friend that left me completely flummoxed and outraged. Why? Because of a comment made to this designer by a publisher. Go grab a relaxing beverage to sip while you read this. You’re going to need it. You’ll probably be as upset as I am.

Starry Night

Starry Night by Vincent Van Gogh

This designer came up with a design inspired by Van Gogh’s painting Starry Night. Sounds fascinating, doesn’t it? Well, not according to one publisher. The publisher apparently asked “if crocheters would even know who Van Gogh was.” (To the best of my knowledge, this was not a publisher whose main business interest is as part of the crochet industry, thank the starry heavens!)

I don’t know about you, but I learned who Van Gogh was in middle school art class. I know art classes have been removed from many public schools, but I was still pretty sure that crocheters were going to know who he was. We don’t live under a rock, after all!

So I set off to do a little unsolicited market research on behalf of this mysterious unknown publisher. I ran right over to Crochetville’s Facebook page for instant access to over 13,000 crocheters.(Scroll down to the posts by page from January 7.)”

And, the article continues, with crocheters having a LOT to say on the matter . . .

Crocheters Are Intelligent, not Stupid or Ignorant.  Posted by  on January 23, 2013 at 3:08 pm

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in blog links, Blogging, craft blog, craft blogs, crochet links and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Crocheters Are Intelligent, not Stupid or Ignorant

  1. I think that anyone who makes a remark like that should be pitied for his/her imbecility, arrogance and rudeness. And then tarred and feathered. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Crocheters Are Intelligent, not Stupid or Ignorant « Tigers Crafty Crafts

  3. I do feel a little sorry for that pitiful lump of flesh trying to pass him or her self off as a writer. Here we have an obviously elitist snob with what appears to be no knowledge of the craft, no knowledge of the creativity that enables a fiber artist to turn a piece of string and a hook into a masterpiece of beautiful, functional, even wearable art, or an intricately carved blanket, or a useful household helper…or a toy to bring a smile to a child’s face. This “writer” seems to have no concept of the math we use, or knowledge of the patterns and pattern charts we decipher on a regular basis. This “writer” seems emotionally and intellectually stunted to me, and for that, I do feel a little sorry.
    @ Nice piece of work…I’ll bring the feathers!

  4. Just letting you know that I have nominated you for the Blogger of the Year Award. 🙂 http://knitnrun4sanity.wordpress.com

  5. starproms says:

    How incredibly rude!

  6. Hmmm I don’t think he is worth my energy getting cross with!

  7. Verónica says:

    Sounds like they’re just trying to provoke and get attention.

  8. I’m floored. I believe that crochet is often the craft that we are taught first. Some of us love it so much that we never learn to knit. Some of us like me decide to try both and while knitting is my go to craft, I still crochet. It depends on the project for me.The idea that you are less intelligent because you crochet is so insulting that I was stunned by the assumption. Frankly I find knitting patterns easier than crochet. Personal thing. I have seen such detailed things like crocheted wedding dresses (check them out on Pinterest) that the skill level blows me away. Sorry there are people out there with that type of thought.

Leave a Reply

