Along My Journey, Learning to Knit Lace . . . the Horseshoe Print, and more.


Let me just start by saying, I have been an avid crocheter for over 35 years now.  Crochet to me is just second nature.  Knitting, on the other hand . . . is definitely like learning a new language.  But, I am getting the hang of it!  I am even beginning to understand charts!  With more study and practice, I hope to create many lovely things.

I have no idea if this is going to be a project . . . or just practice.  I guess it would make a nice scarf.

I have had this little “Leisure Arts little books” booklet Beginner’s Guide KNIT STITCHES & EASY PROJECTS in my library for several years now.    I towed it out a while back and I have been studying it, in-between other knit projects.  Here’s what I have gotten out of it so far . . .

Knitting the Horseshoe Print.  So far, I am pretty happy with it!

Knitting the Horseshoe Print. So far, I am pretty happy with it!

What I have learned is that it isn’t as difficult as I thought it was.  I have since found out that placing stitch markers along the repetitions would help keep my place throughout the pattern.  Before I continue, I will place them.

Here is a knitting magazine I recently purchased (available at your local newsstand until 3/25/13) published by loveofknitting.com

Love of knitting presents QuickKnits

Love of knitting presents QuickKnits

This has proved to be a very helpful article . . .

I can’t wait to get going on some swatches!  Hmmm, if I am very brave, maybe an afghan or pretty throw will be in my future.

Well, that’s it!  Thanks, as always, for letting me share!  I am, once again, in my ‘happy place’.  (This is how I stay sane.)  *sigh*

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in journal, knitting, learn a new craft, Learning to knit, loveofknitting.com and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Along My Journey, Learning to Knit Lace . . . the Horseshoe Print, and more.

  1. It looks great. I am a new crocheter. I tried knitting first and just could not get the hang of it. Maybe the more experienced I get with crochet, knitting will make sense to me. Good Luck!

  2. Your knitting looks pretty acomplished to me! Definitely not a beginner any more. 🙂

  3. Looks good; you’re learning fast!

  4. Pingback: I Knit my Brows (a Punny Poem)

  5. Pingback: I Knit my Brows (a Punny Poem)

Leave a Reply

