TECHknitting: The ball winder–a useful tool, especially with long color repeat yarns


I found this website today which has a plethora of useful information!

Case in point, I have been looking for one more good reason  to purchase a ball-winder.  I have recently seen one put to good use in a video tutorial where one skein of yarn needed to be divided in half.  Anyway, besides the obvious, (winding hanks) I reclaim a lot of yarn and this would be my main reason for purchasing a ball-winder.  

Well . . . this article lists so many good reasons to have one handy at all times.  Now, I just need to do some research to see which one I would love to have in my ‘tool-box’!  

This is not the entire article.  You can read it in it’s entirety here:  TECHknitting: The ball winder–a useful tool, especially with long color repeat yarns.

  • Knots are easier to splice out during the rewinding process, rather than having one (inevitably) pop up in the middle of a complex lace or stitch repeat.  For non-spliceable yarn, better to wind two separate balls. The coming end clearly announces itself so the join can be put at an inconspicuous place.
  • In rustic yarns, the bits of brush, dirt and other trash spun into the yarn show right away and can get picked out before the knitting starts.
  • Weak strands: even factory-standard yarns feature this problem from time to time, while some thick-and-thin yarns get SO thin in spots as to require editing.
  • Insect damage (ewwww)!  Old woolen yarn from yard-sales, de-stashing swaps, store clearances always gets re-wound before letting it fraternize with existing stash ever since nasty wormies were found actually crawling around some garage-sale yarn.

When using long-color-repeat yarns, the ball winder is particularly useful.

  • Not all purchased skeins are wound in the same directions of repeat.

(to read more, click the link)

S-o-o-o-o . . . Who can give me some recommendations?  I really do not want to waste my hard-earned money on something sub-standard, or cheaply made.  But I also don’t want to spend an arm and a leg either.  I do love getting good advice as much as I love giving it.  

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in blog links, craft blogs, Creativity, crochet, Crochet inspiration, crochet tips and tricks, diy, fiber art, fugal living, handmade, joining yarn, knitting, Knitting inspiration, Learning to knit, many uses for stuff, my list of things-to-do, organize, Productive Living, Productivity, recycle, reuse, shopping, Tips and tools, Tools for my creative inspiration, yarn, yarn stash and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to TECHknitting: The ball winder–a useful tool, especially with long color repeat yarns

  1. I have a spare one packed away in the garage – someone gave it to me and I have never used it (it’s not brand new, though, but works perfectly). Where do you live? You can have it with my compliments, although the airmail postage cost might give us a fright!
    Jill 🙂

  2. I am not sure that anything too expensive is required – my friend had one gifted to her which does the job. I am not sure that it was that expensive – why not ask on ravelry?

  3. Woo hoo! Just bought one online with a gift card I got for Christmas. Thank you Son! (Now, I just need a swift . . . )

  4. Pepper says:

    Just visiting your blog for the first time. I hope you enjoy your new ball-winder. I have a cheap one that I got years ago from knit picks and it has served me well. I also purchased their cheapest swift to go with it and I think it was well worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

