Learn to read crochet patterns


I am once again trying my hand at writing a pattern.  I believe this article is just what I’ve been looking for!

Here is the part that especially interests me.  I need to remember to use the symbols properly.

Symbols

Crochet patterns use symbols to signal repeated text, special instructions and clarifying information.

(  )  Work instructions within parentheses in place directed; used to indicate collective stitch groups worked as one procedure in the same place; used for additional or clarifying information, indicated in italic text.

Examples:

·         (3 dc, ch 2, 3 dc) in next corner sp

·         (sc, hdc, 3 dc, hdc, sc) in next st

·         (48 dc) – indicating stitch count at end of row or round

·         (88 [94, 106, 112] sc) – indicating multiple stitch counts for additional garment sizes or rows/rnds.

·         Row 1 (RS): – indicating front of work

 

[  ]  Repeat instructions within brackets as directed; also used to indicate additional or clarifying information.

Examples:

·         [dc in next dc, cl in next ch-1 sp] 5 times

·         [dc in each of next 3 dc, shell in next shell] across to next corner

·         Child’s 2 [4, 6, 8] – indicating multiple finished garment sizes

·         Rows 29–36 [31–38, 31–40]: – indicating additional rows/rnds for multiple sizes

·         Sc in each of next 4 [5, 6] sts – indicating additional instructions for multiple sizes

 

{  } Repeat instructions within braces as directed; used to indicate a set of repeat instructions that are worked within a bracketed set of repeat instructions, or to indicate multiple repeats of stitch patterns that are part of a collective stitch group contained within parentheses.

Examples:

·         [dc in each of next 3 sts, {shell in next ch-1 sp} twice] 4 times

·         [{ch 5, sc in next ch sp} twice, ch 5, sk next dc, dc in next dc, {ch 1, sk next dc, dc in next dc} 6 times] twice

·         ({dc, ch 1} 5 times, dc) in next ch-2 sp

·         ({sc, ch 3} 3 times, hdc, ch 2, hdc, ch 3, {sc, ch 3} twice, sc) all in corner sp

*    Repeat instructions following a single asterisk or between two single asterisks as directed.

Examples:

·         Ch 1, sc in first sc, *ch 1, sk next ch-1 sp, sc in next sc, rep from * across

·         *Sc in each of next 2 sts, 2 sc in next st, rep from * around

·         Ch 1, *(sc, dc, tr, dc, sc) in next ch-2 sp, ch 2, sc in next hdc, ch 2, rep from * 6 times

·         Ch 1, sc in same st, sc in each of next 22 sc, *[2 sc in next sc, sc in each of next 3 sc] twice, 2 sc in next sc*, sc in each of next 23 sc, rep between * once, join in beg sc.

Now, what would be really nice, would be my own personal pattern tester.  

You may read the entire article here:  Learn to read crochet patterns.  Written by Brenda Stratton

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Annie's Crafts, craft blogs, crochet, crochet links, crochet patterns, crochet tips and tricks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learn to read crochet patterns

  1. shawnascott says:

    — Sent from my Palm Pre

Leave a Reply

