Organic Cotton Yarn from Pakucho, Blue Sky Alpacas from fabulousyarn.com


Cotton is a popular crop worldwide, consuming a significant amount of chemicals both in growing and processing. Naturally colored cotton is easier to grow organically, plus it does not require any bleach or dyes in processing. In 1988 there was only one acre of organically grown cotton in this country. By 2001, there were more than 11,000 acres in organic cotton. That number has since dropped to under 5,000 acres, as competition from foreign growers has increased.”

But the allure of naturally colored cotton has not diminished. Breeding and marketing has transformed an ancient plant into something new and desirable, found in upscale clothing, linens and yarn shops.”

Organic Cotton Yarn

Cotton works for Spring, Summer, Winter, Fall. In sizes both Skinny, worsted and even handspun. Organic Dyed and Completely Color-Grown (ie, naturally occuring colors) can be found here. We love cotton for it’s natural lightness, breathability, and the comfort it so naturally imparts. Soft enough for baby, hard-working and elegant enough for a night on the town, cotton is truly a miracle fiber.

If you didn’t already know, cotton is probably my absolute favorite yarn medium.

I am sharing this fascinating article from http://www.fabulousyarn.com/.   I actually learned quite a bit.  To read the article in it’s entirety:  Organic Cotton Yarn from Pakucho, Blue Sky Alpacas.  Also are links to purchase some of these wonderful yarns.

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Cotton Yarn, yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

