Chunky Knit Cowl – My New Favorite Thing!


So . . . as with so many things I create, I had no pattern.  It just sort of evolved into this fabulous, warm, stretchy and cushy infinity scarf / neck cowl.  What is the proper terminology anyway???

I got the yarn on sale from Joann’s a few months ago with no particular project in mind.  This project took exactly 3 skeins of yarn.  (2 Almond, 1 Pristine)

Deborah Norville Collection.  Serenity Chunky Weight Yarn, colors Almond and Pristine

Deborah Norville Collection. Serenity Chunky Weight Yarn, colors Almond and Pristine

Wrapped once . . .

My new favorite infinity, wrapped once . . .

I picked up my 24″ 15 US / 10.0mm Clover Takumi Velvet Bamboo Circular Needles (larger than recommended) and cast on 120 stitches, and joined to a circle.  Then I knit a 2 x 2 rib stitch until I ran out of yarn . . . attached the contrasting color and knit, knit, knit until I ran out of yarn again.  (My original plan was to continue in the rib stitch pattern, but I am glad I changed my mind.)  Next, I went back to the main color and knit the rib stitch again until I felt I had about enough yarn left to bind off.  (pretty ballsy, eh?)

So, this ‘over-sized’ cowl (depending on which way it stretches) is approximately 13-16″ wide by 58-62+ inches around.  I absolutely love it, and have received many compliments. Because it is a chunky/bulky weight yarn and large needle, it works up fairly quickly too.

I have three skeins of this wonderful yarn left, in Almond.  I think I will make another, made up on the Rib Stitch only.

I am presently a ‘happy knitter’!!!

 

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Beginner Knitting, circular knitting needles, completed projects, Creativity, diy, diy gifts, fashion colors, handmade, Happiness, inspiration, journal, knitting, knitting needles, knitting projects, Learning to knit, style, yarn, yarn stash and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Chunky Knit Cowl – My New Favorite Thing!

  1. Verónica says:

    Love it. Nice calm color combination.

  2. starproms says:

    Looks so warm and cosy and let’s face it, at this time of the year we want more and more of that, don’t we. Well done.

  3. Mona Kinder says:

    Love it!

  4. ooo lovely and snuggly. Perfect.

  5. Pingback: Austerity Christmas Continues | OX KNIT

  6. Reblogged this on G-Ma Ellen's Hands – Adventures in Crochet and Knit and commented:

    Sharing, because I just have to make MORE!!! Sooo cozy and comfy…
    I am presently making a 2 x 2 rib cowl. Using size 15 needles. Holding two strands of yarn together. One Lion Brand Homespun and one Caron Simply Soft yarn. Cast on 120 stitches. I will post pics soon!

  7. Ellen, I LOVE this … and especially love that you chose two of MY favorite yarns to use for this beautiful cowl! Thanks for sharing this with all of us – and would LOVE to see more of what you are doing with my Serenity Chunky Yarns! xo, Deborah Norville

    • Deborah, Thank you for writing! I appreciate your interest very much.
      I have to say, I made this cowl over two years ago, and it is STILL one of my very favorite things! Serenity yarn is such a pleasure to work with. And wearing it is . . . well, It just feels like home. I LOVE it.

Leave a Reply

