My Version of “A Christmas Wreath” – Unadorned


Here are a couple of shots of the first Wreath I have crocheted in a few years.  I just grabbed the closest ball of thread and hook.  It is not stiffened, or adorned.  But I like it!

I can't seem to make one of these without altering the pattern a little.  I have done a three-picot edging.

I can’t seem to make one of these without modifying the pattern a little. I have done a three-picot edging.

Another view.  I may add a knit i-cord 'ribbon', and stiffen, (or not)

Another view. I may add a knit i-cord ‘ribbon’, and stiffen (or not!).

I like the picot edging.

I like the picot edging.

Here is the link to the free pattern if you are interested:

Family Circle, 1979  Free pattern:  http://wp.me/p1Hwn4-RS

Family Circle, 1979 Free pattern: http://wp.me/p1Hwn4-RS

 

For the Picot Edge:  Rnd 6:  (Border)  Sl st in each of next sc, hdc, and 2 dc; * sc in the center dc of next petal,  * ch 6, sc in 3rd ch from hook, ch 3, sl st in top of sc (2 times).  Ch 3, sc in center of the next petal.  Repeat from * around.  Slip stitch in first slip stitch and make a 12 ch hanging loop, sl stitch and finish off.

I hope this makes sense!  This edging is much prettier (I think) and much quicker too.

 

 

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Christmas Ornaments, crochet, Crochet inspiration, Crochet Lace, crochet links, crochet patterns, crochet thread, diy, DIY Crochet Christmas Ornaments, diy gifts, diy home fashion, home decor, I'm A Threadie!, inspiration, journal, wreaths and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Version of “A Christmas Wreath” – Unadorned

  1. Mona Kinder says:

    I like it too! 🙂

  2. Pingback: “A Christmas Wreath”, cont’d | G-Ma Ellen's Crochet Corner

  3. Reblogged this on G-Ma Ellen's Hands – Adventures in Crochet and Knit and commented:

    Because I need to get busy . . . . . Christmas will be here W A Y too soon!!!!! *Panic mode*

Leave a Reply

