Crochet Thread: A Christmas Wreath, Family Circle Magazine 1979


This pattern is from a Family Circle Magazine published 12/11/1979.  I pulled the pages out, and carefully hand copied the last part of the pattern.  It is so tattered and worn now, I could barely make it all out.  I thought I had better preserve it somehow, and share it with you as well.  😀

Family Circle, 1979

Family Circle, 1979

Materials:  William Unger’s “Ariane” yarn (20 gms., 7/10 oz. skein) 1 skein of #18 gold.  Optional:  Velvet ribbon in red and green.  Steel crochet hook, No. 7.

Each stiffened Wreath measures approximately 3 1/4″ in diameter.

Note:  Wreath is worked on right side.  Starting at center with gold, ch 20.  Join with sl st to form a ring, being careful not to twist chain.

Rnd 1:  Ch 1, sc in each ch around – 20 sc.  Join with sl st to first sc.

Rnd 2:  Sc in same place as sl st, *ch 3, sk 1 sc, sc in next sc – loop made;  rpt from * around, ending with ch 3, sk 1 sc.  Join with sl st to first sc – 10 loops.

Rnd 3:  In each ch-3 lp around work (sc, hdc, 3 dc, hdc, sc) petal made.  Join with a sl st to first sc – 10 petals.

Rnd 4:  Working in back of petals.  *Ch 5, sc in back lps of first sc between ch-3 lps on rnd before last;  rpt from * around, ending with ch 5.  Join with sl st in same place as previous sl st.

Rnd 5:  In each ch-5 lp around work (sc, hdc, 5 dc, hdc, sc).  Join with sl st in same place as previous sl st.

Rnd 6:  (Border)  Sl st in each of next sc, hdc, and 2 dc; * sc in the center dc of next petal, ch 5: rpt from * around.  Join with sl st to the first sc.

Rnd 7:  Ch 5, * work (2 dc, ch 2) in the next sc;  rpt from * around  ending with (2 dc, ch 2, 2 dc) in next ch 5 lp, ch 2.  Join with sl st to 3rd ch of ch 5.

Rnd 8:  (Picot Edge)  * ch 2, in next ch 2 work (sc, ch 3, sl st in first ch, sc) – Picot made;  rpt from * around.  Join with sl st in same place as previous sl st.  Do not cut thread.  Ch 12 for hanging loop.  Sl st in same place as last sl st.  Cut yarn and fasten off.

To Stiffen:  Using the directions to shape, pin the wreath so the outer edge forms a round circle and the center petals stand up.  (See photo for optional trim placement.)

To prepare the solution:  Use only a hot sugar solution (it will not leave a film on the yarn) of one cup of sugar added to one cup of water.  Allow it to boil for no more than 4 minutes, until all the sugar dissolves and forms a thin syrup.

To stiffen:  Cool the solution for about 4 or 5 minutes, so you don’t burn yourself.  First wet the ornament with tap water and squeeze out.  Then saturate ornament in the solution; squeeze out the excess.

To shape:  Cover a hard surface with freezer wrap.  Lie Wreath flat, shape and pin.  Allow to dry for at least 8 hours (depending on the humidity).  If not hard enough, use a pastry brush to dab additional solution on the Wreath.

I hope you all enjoy this little Wreath Pattern as much as I have over the last 33 years!  (Wow, that’s a l-o-n-g time!)

P.S.  If anyone is interested, I will post the patterns for the snowflake and five-pointed star as well.

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in crochet, Crochet inspiration, crochet thread, diy, DIY Crochet Christmas Ornaments, diy home fashion, Free Crochet Pattern and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crochet Thread: A Christmas Wreath, Family Circle Magazine 1979

  1. Pingback: “A Christmas Wreath”, cont’d | G-Ma Ellen's Crochet Corner

  2. Leeanne Carr says:

    Thank you! I’ve been trying to find this for years & years! Please post the directions for the other ornaments!

Leave a Reply

