Diary of a Crafty Chica™: Tips for crafty vendors this season!


I am going to take a chance again this year on a craft show, so I need some good advice.   Last year was my first, and I did . . . so-so.  I have come across a few good web pages to get some tips and tricks from, so I thought I should share:

These are the highlights.

1. Adapt your items and prices to what fits best with the crowd.
2. Have a good variety of prices.
3. Take credit cards.
4. Mash it up! 
5. Surprise your repeat customers! 
6. Bring tools. 
7. Visit the dollar store for small frames and stands. 
8. Do mind control over your customers! 
9. Don’t just sit there, share your story!
10. Don’t unnecessarily overspend. 
11. Bring a care kit. 
12. Come up with special offers.
13. Support fellow vendors. 
14. Always be thankful.
15. Bring a notepad. 
(These are just the highlights.  )
More:
– Bring plenty of change, lots of ones, fives and tens.
– Allow yourself a certain amount to spend on other booths. I always give myself $20. That way I don’t overspend!
– Always have a mirror if you sell jewelry.
– Make sure all your work is signed, bring a permanent marker just in case you forget. 

To read the entire article in depth:  Diary of a Crafty Chica™: Tips for crafty vendors this season!.

Here’s another great article on what to put in your personal craft show “tool box”.  http://creativeincomeblog.com/craft-show-toolbox/

And another great page with craft show tips:  http://creativeincomeblog.com/tips-selling-craft-fairs-markets/

  • Don’t put all your products flat on a table, people will be walking past and judge what you’re selling in about 2 seconds, if it’s not visible they will walk on.
  • Don’t have an empty stand, if there isn’t lots to choose from people won’t buy. If you don’t have lots of work share your stand with a friend. It cuts on cost and it fills up the table better.
  • Price your work, people will be afraid to ask if there is no price on it, especially with crafts, people always assume that they can’t afford it.

This page has a plethora of good information I haven’t gotten to yet . . . http://creativeincomeblog.com/category/craft-fairs/

Wow, now I think I am beginning to be overwhelmed.  But, if anyone has any great tips for me, I would surely love to hear them!  Please take the time to leave a comment (or two . . . or ten, LOL)

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Craft Business Tips, Craft Fairs, Craft Markets, Craft Shows, Holiday Craft Shows, Tips for crafty vendors, Tips for Selling at Craft Fairs or Markets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

