Frugal by Choice, Cheap by Necessity: How do you make lotion bars? None of your beeswax!


I stumbled across this Lotion Bar recipe on Pinterest.   *gasp*  That place I spend entirely too much time!  The pictorial is very easy to follow, and straightforward.   Made with three easy-to-find ingredients:  beeswax, almond oil and coconut oil (one part each)

The recipe:  Frugal by Choice, Cheap by Necessity: How do you make lotion bars? None of your beeswax!.

About Beeswax:  “Beeswax locks in moisture, fosters cells and protects skin from damaging environmental factors. Honeygirlorganic.com reports beeswax effectively “softens your skin and creates a long-lasting protective coating against the elements. It also is a naturally nourishing moisturizer as well as being anti-inflammatory, antibacterial, anti-allergenic and a germicidal antioxidant.” According to Botanical.com, “Even after processing, beeswax still remains a biologically active product, retaining some anti-bacterial properties and also contains some vitamin A, which is necessary for normal cell development.” The Mayo Clinic recommends lip balm made from beeswax for chapped lip care and prevention. Read the entire article here:  http://www.ehow.com/about_5705546_skin-benefits-beeswax.html

Read more: Skin Benefits of Beeswax | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/about_5705546_skin-benefits-beeswax.html#ixzz29HaVl9bP

The benefits of coconut oil are plenty!  It “helps in treating various skin problems including psoriasis, dermatitiseczema and other skin infections. Therefore coconut oil forms the basic ingredient of various body care products such as soaps, lotions, creams, etc., used for skin care. Coconut oil also helps in preventing premature aging and degenerative diseases due to its antioxidant properties.”  http://www.organicfacts.net/organic-oils/organic-coconut-oil/health-benefits-of-coconut-oil.html (This is a very informative article!  The page goes on and on . . .)

Almond oil is also very good for your skin.  Here is a little info:  “So how does almond oil helps to protect our skin. Almond oil contains vitamin E in abundance. Vitamin E also known as the food for our skin. Vitamin E protects our skin from damaging ultraviolet lights. It prevents cell damage and also fights with some skin disorders. Also almond oil’s nourishing nature and great emollient properties makes it excellent choice for the people with dry skin. The dry skin tends to crack easily specially in the winter or when the weather is dry due to it has less moisture. The moisturizer in sweet almond oil not only address this issue of dry skin but it also keeps the PH of the skin at normal level. Due to its superb texture almond oil not only easily absorb in the skin but it helps to maintain the tone of the skin.

So keep massaging with almond oil and it will make your skin nice, soft and young. So feel young, live young and keep enjoy reading benefits-of-almond-oil.com. If you like then please give us a favor by thumbs up and share with whom you care. Thanks”   Read more here:  http://benefits-of-almond-oil.com/

So, there you have it.  Some ‘food’ for thought.  I would really love to try this soon . . . I am also thinking “What fabulous gifts these would make for Christmas!”  Maybe packed together with some lovely crochet face scrubbies or cloths.  😀

Hmmm . . . I am also thinking there must be another way to package.  Something a bit more portable.  Like . . . recycled mint tins or something.  Any other ideas???

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in craft blog, craft blogs, diy, diy gifts, fugal living, handmade, Happiness, healthy living, household tips and tricks, Life, many uses for stuff, my list of things-to-do, My quest to healthy living, Productive Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Frugal by Choice, Cheap by Necessity: How do you make lotion bars? None of your beeswax!

  1. daniellajoe says:

    I’m reblogging Gma

  2. Pingback: Make your own Organic Face Creams « Liz Shewan Blog

Leave a Reply

