Just sharing, a little this and that . . .


So, I haven’t posted anything in a while.  Mostly I have been practicing (and un-practicing) my new knitting skills.  Some fun.  :/

This morning I am sitting here contemplating the rapid passing of time.  Good grief!  Just last weekend the weather was in the 90’s.  Lows in the 70’s.  As I write this, today’s high temperature will be in the mid 70’s.  Tonight’s low . . . in the low 40’s!

The gift of the year seems to be . . . (wait for it . . . ) a cotton crochet rug.  I have decided that since my cotton yarn stash is so enormous, it would be a wonderful way to start using it up!

My brother’s birthday, to me, signals the end of summer.  Or rather, the beginning of fall.  I decided he, also would get a rug this year and he is very eager to have this one in his possession!

Another rug!  Didn’t I tell you? This is one of my very, very favorite things to make. I can do this in my sleep. 😀

And, while I am here I may as well share a knitting project which I am pretty sure I will finish.  (As opposed to ‘un-practicing’, or tearing back!)

Knit with big sticks, size 15 in a lovely simple Seed Stitch. With Deborah Norville’s Serenity Chunky Weight yarn Red Bayou. I haven’t yet decided whether it will be a cowl, or scarf.

Close up of my work.

There have been a lot of projects on my sticks and hook recently, but I am just too particular I guess.  One step forward . . . and, what seems to be . . . 12 steps back.  Practice makes perfect!

 

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Colors for Fall, Cotton Yarn, Creativity, crochet, Crochet inspiration, fashion colors, FO - finished objects, handmade, Happiness, inspiration, journal, knitting, Learning to knit, Life, On my sticks, Productive Living, shopping, UFO's, Un-Finished Projects, Works in progress, yarn, yarn stash and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just sharing, a little this and that . . .

  1. agujasblog says:

    I love the rug. What kind of yarn did you use – cotton? Do you use a particular pattern?

  2. I am sure that you can find something to make with the green yarn!!!!

Leave a Reply

