Cotton Throw Rugs


So, I finished a special project I started several weeks ago.  This was a birthday gift.  I wanted to make something special for my son that he would have forever.

Completed Scrap Yarn Rug

I have seen a lot of afghans come and go.  They do wear out!  But, I have yet to see one of these babies wear out.  I have been making them for about 6 years maybe?  They are in constant use.  Easy care, just toss in the washer and dryer!  (Just be careful not to bleach!)

Just a few cotton area/scatter rugs I have made, and kept.  In the creamy lavender looking one, I used one strand of ecru cotton yarn and one strand of size 10 cotton thread.  Turned out nice, I think!

Every now and then I just get the urge to whip one up.  Some are small enough to use as chair ‘pads’.  They rarely get larger than 3 feet across though, because I just run out of umph!  I most always use cotton yarn.  Sometimes more than one strand.

So, here are some more pics of the new rug.

Close up. This old Boye hook says K. But I don’t think so by today’s standards. Probably closer to an L.

I used three strands of yarn.  (This was hard work!)  Two were constant, dark brown.  The third strand was scrap yarns.  I just started another color when one ran out.

34″ side to side, 38″ corner to corner

So, when I got to the end of my scrap yarn I only had two working balls of brown.  I decided to use a reverse single crochet stitch around with two strands of brown to finish.

Reverse single crochet. Also called the Crab Stitch.  (Check out the crochet hook I used.  I have had it for over 30 years, what a trusty old friend!)

And here is the kind of yarn I used throughout. I get it from Herrschners.com whenever it’s on sale.

If anyone is interested, I might be willing to try a picture tutorial of this super easy pattern.

Now, time to move to the kitchen and make a big batch of my World Famous Spaghetti to celebrate Son’s birthday!

 

 

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Colors for Fall, completed projects, Cotton Yarn, Creativity, crochet, FO - finished objects, handmade, Happiness, home decor, home fashion, journal, yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cotton Throw Rugs

  1. Crochet says:

    Hello GMA I love it, but I would want to go with a 10×10 why stop so soon lol!!
    And yes instructions plz??

  2. Crochet says:

    Please tell your son i wish him a very Happy Birthday

  3. Love these. Not surprised you ran out of energy however! Hope he was pleased!

  4. iesadora says:

    I’d love the pattern please! How many skeins did you use? How many do you think it would take using one strand? I bought a closeout bag of the Caribbean cotton yarn with 12 skeins in it a couple of months ago and am planning on making a wide brimmed hat with some of it but hadn’t come up with anything to do with the rest of it. I think one of your rugs would be perfect for the open space in my bedroom. =d

    • Thank you for your comments! How much yarn you will need really depends on a a few things. What size hook, how many strands, how big. With the rug featured in this blog I used three strands of yarn held together, and a large size K hook, and it is approx. 3 ft across. The total weight when finished was about 38 ounces. So, this was just about 15 skeins of 2.5 oz Village Caribbean or Craft cotton worsted weight yarn. I am thinking that if you want a rug that will not be flimsy, you’ll want to use a much smaller hook to make the final fabric more dense. Otherwise it will be flimsy.
      To answer your question, I would figure about 10 oz for a two foot rug, maybe more, but probably not less.
      OH! If you will go to this blog post, you can use this pattern and just continue in size until you get to what you need. (Also, I would recommend some type of rug backing if you are putting this on a bare floor.)
      Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

