Working My Magic, With Vintage Linen Boucle Thread.


He-he.  Well, at least I hope it’s magic!  If you recall, my last post “Vintage Treasures!”, I posted pics of some lovely thread I found at an estate sale.  Well, being the compulsive personality I am, I just dropped everything else I have been doing (or not doing, as the case may be) and picked up one of the spools and got busy.

This thread is really something!  It must be linen. 

I was thinking, it wouldn’t make a very ‘wearable’ item.  So, I decided to start on a very simple, small handbag!  Working in rounds with no joining stitch and single crochet.  Here’s what I have so far.

Gallery:

Or, if you prefer, a slide show:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Because I want to incorporate some color, I am going to embellish this new handbag.  To this end, I ordered some fabulous linen thread on Etsy today.  Aren’t these colors fabulous?!  They are coming all the way from Lithuania, so I’ll have to wait a little.  Won’t these make some terrific floral embellishments?

Linen Yarn, set of 3 balls, natural linen thread, light blue, blue, purple, linen thread. Click the photo to go to Supplies for Handmade Etsy Shop

Now, I just need some green . . . I think I have some around here . . . somewhere . . .

I’ll keep you posted!

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in crochet, crochet thread, etsy, fabulous shop, fashion, handmade, Happiness, inspiration, journal, my list of things-to-do, thread, thread stash, UFO's, Un-Finished Projects, Vintage thread, WIP, Works in progress and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Working My Magic, With Vintage Linen Boucle Thread.

  1. agujasblog says:

    What a great idea! I think a handbag will look fabulous. Can’t wait to see what you do with the color embellishments.

    • I am actually PRETTY excited about this one! It will be small, but, oooooh so lovely! Not sure what to do about handle(s) yet. I’ll sleep on that for awhile I guess. My thread may take 2 weeks to get here.

  2. Maryanne says:

    Wow, It’s going to be gorgeous. I love the colours, the are incredible!

  3. I thought you weren’t starting any new projects!!!! I don’t really blame you however!

  4. Crochet says:

    the colors are sooo delicate looking I love them!!! I will be following the progress 🙂

  5. Pingback: Etsy – Your place to buy and sell all things handmade, vintage, and supplies | Biotech Innovator

  6. Pingback: The Magic Thread – Sharon Penner

Leave a Reply

