Gaugeless : Favorite Stories from Lion Brand Yarn


I enjoyed this story so much I felt the need to share!

Gaugeless : Favorite Stories from Lion Brand Yarn

The article also includes the pattern for these lovely dish cloths. They are knit in Lion Brand Kitchen Cotton.

“Take some of your wool and the size needle your intelligence tells you might be right, and make a swatch. That is to say, suit the needle size to your own personal and peculiar way of knitting.” 

– Elizabeth Zimmermann, Knitter’s Almanac

Excerpt from article:

“Usually we think of washcloths as gaugeless, “gauge not important.” But what does “gauge unimportant” really mean? That any gauge will do? Should we just follow the ball band’s recommendation? Or, do we cast on the stated amount of stitches on whatever needles we have around and proceed with confidence? After all, it is a washcloth, however it turns out, it will still be useful? Right?”

Continue reading here.

Gaugeless : Favorite Stories from Lion Brand Yarn.

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Cotton Yarn, craft blog, Creativity, favorite blogs, favorite quotes, handmade, home decor, home fashion, inspiration, knitting, knitting needles, knitting pattern link, Learning to knit, Life, Lion Brand Yarn, my list of things-to-do, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

