Tips for Crocheters Learning to Knit | Poetry in Yarn Blog


 

1. Ditch the Long Needles
One of the biggest difficulties I had with knitting was maneuvering the long needles. They just felt so awkward and uncomfortable. Luckily, some friends showed me how to knit back and forth on circular needles. With circular needles the flexible cable can be long, but the actual needle part you are holding is shorter, like a crochet hook.

2. Try Continental
Continental knitting requires holding the yarn in your left hand. This is something that you’re probably already comfortable with from your crochet, and you’ll be able to focus more energy on learning how to form the stitches.

3. A Yarn Over is Not a Yarn Over
Crochet and knitting both involve wrapping yarn around, but they do it differently. In the beginning, pay careful attention to whether your yarn over is front to back or back to front. With practice, it’ll become automatic, and your hands will wrap the yarn the right way without you having to think about it.

4. Use Your Crochet Hooks…When Knitting

Most knitters use crochet hooks to pick up dropped stitches, but there are several other ways they can come in handy. Take advantage of your crochet know-how and use a crochet cast on. The crochet cast on uses a crochet hook to create the stitches on to a knitting needle. If you use a piece of scrap yarn, it becomes a provisional cast on. You can also use a crochet hook for a crochet bind off.

Tips for Crocheters Learning to Knit | Poetry in Yarn Blog.

Another discovery along my journey to knitting success!  Just thought I would share.  What do you knitters (who crochet) think about these tips???

 

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in craft blog, favorite blogs, knitting, knitting needles, Learning to knit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tips for Crocheters Learning to Knit | Poetry in Yarn Blog

  1. caityrosey says:

    Very informative to hear about learning to transition to knitting from crocheting. As a knitter, I always think about the difficulties of going the other way. I particularly enjoyed the observation about the difference between types of yarnovers.

  2. Candace says:

    These tips are great! Especially the one about keeping your hook near you. I knit as well, but I don’t knit near as well as I crochet. I have tried and tried to do continental knitting but I can’t. My stitches are far too loose. Even though I hold my yarn in the left hand when I crochet, I knit with the yarn in my right hand.

    • I am right there with you! I am a beginner knitter. I also knit with the yarn in my right hand. I wish I could pick up my speed, but I guess I should work on my technique first.
      I have tried knitting before, but just didn’t have the patience. Now . . . it’s like a fever! I can’t watch enough videos, or pore through enough books. So, there just cannot be enough advice, or helpful tips.

      • Candace says:

        You know my Great-great Aunt knit, crocheted (is that right?) and did tatting. She always knit with the yarn in her right hand and crochet with the yarn in her left. She passed away in her 90’s and had been doing all three crafts since the 1940’s. So maybe it’s OK to keep knitting one way and crochet another! 🙂

      • Thank you for sharing! You really have to admire all those old gals who could do it all! Both my grandmothers could run circles around me. They both worked, kept up the house, baked, canned, cooked, and were super crafty. And always had plenty of time for church functions and family as well. I miss ’em both a bunch!

  3. I’m sure these tips will really come in handy for a lot of people! Thankfully I feel like I’m mostly over the crochet-to-knit changeover.

Leave a Reply

