List of Cities Banning Plastic Bags Around the World – Bunchbags.org


The impact of plastic is really quite staggering. Something most of us really don’t like to think about.

So, I was just curious, and did some checking around . . . the list is growing, but this is really just a drop in the bucket.  Do you live in a city that has banned plastic bags? If so, what is your solution?

Here is a pretty comprehensive list

Cities that have banned plastic bags

American Samoa
Aspen, CO
Austin, TX
Berkely, CA
Bethel, Alaska
Boulder, CO
Brownsville, TX
Calabasas, CA
Edmonds, WA
Fairfax, VA
Kuai, HI
Long beach, CA
Malibu, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
Maui, HI
NY City
Palo Alto, CA
San Carlos, CA
San Francisco, CA
San Jose, CA
San Mateo, CA
Santa Clara County, CA
Santa Cruz, CA
Santa Monica, CA
Seattle, WA
South Padre, TX
Telluride, CO
Washington D.C.
Westport, CT

Places in U.S. considering ban

Portland
Maui Kauai
Brownsville TX
American Samoa
Boston
Phoenix
Baltimore
Arcata CA
Sunnyvale CA
Jersey City NJ
Wilton CT
Dubuque IA

Places around the world with a plastic bag ban

Italy
Mexico City
Thompson City, Canada
Wood Buffalo, Alberta, Canada (All single-use bags)
Thailand
Delhi, India
Mumbai, India
Karwar, India
Tirumala, India
Vasco, India
Rangoon, Burma
Bangladesh (bags have been banned since 2002)
Rwanda
Sydney’s Oyster Bay in Australia (along with twelve other towns in Australia)
Israel

Places around the world considering the ban

France
London

Places Discouraging plastic bag use

Washington DC (5 cent tax)
Madison, Wis. ( mandatory plastic bag recycling law)
Many European countries have a tax on the bag
China does not give out free bags

List of Cities Banning Plastic Bags Around the World – Bunchbags.org.

Another list with dates and such:  http://www.campaignforrecycling.org/our_issues/plastic/plastic_bags/current_laws

Campaign for Recycling is dedicated to expanding recycling in the United States through the development of state-based recycling incentives.  While there are many products for which recycling incentives should be expanded, C4R is currently focused primarily on beverage container (bottle bill), plastic bag bans and electronic waste (e-waste) recycling policies.

Learn more about recycling campaigns in your state.  http://www.campaignforrecycling.org/states

Once again, some shameless self-promotion!  http://www.etsy.com/shop/GMaEllenCrochetGifts?section_id=8021817  I am adding more shopping bags to my selection, so please be patient, and check back often.

I hope I have given you some food for thought . . .

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in banning plastic bags, GMa Ellen Crochet gifts, made to order, plastic bags, recycle, reuse, shopping, shopping bags and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to List of Cities Banning Plastic Bags Around the World – Bunchbags.org

  1. Crochet says:

    Hello Gma Ellen, nice post!!!! something has to be done and it may well need to start with us Artisans…

Leave a Reply

