Learning Tunisian Crochet


I seem to recall that 30 years ago (more or less) it was called the Afghan Stitch.  I never really did find it too appealing.  However, in this ‘modern’ age, so many different things are being done with it.  And as popularity would have it, we now more commonly call it Tunisian Crochet.

So, I thought I would try my hand at “Tunisian Crochet”.  I got some new hooks in the mail recently . . . 

New hooks!!! Has anyone used these fantastic looking double-ended swivel hooks?

Before braving the double-ended swivels, I thought, ‘how about a good old-fashioned dishcloth?”  Thank you YouTube!  This was easy enough to accomplish!  The first thing I discovered is that I cannot hold the hook the way I usually do.  But, that was an easy adjustment.

The most basic stitch . . .

I picked the size L hook and some pretty new Rose colored cotton yarn.  Nice and curly along the bottom . . . a row of single crochet around will cure that.

It seems now I need a new book to learn to use these lovely double-ended swivels!  So, today I ordered this:

This looks like as good a place to start as any. I ordered mine from Amazon.com. (I LOVE Amazon)

What I did get was this book along with all my new hooks.

These all look like lovely projects, but now I need to go and buy more hooks! What a vicious cycle.

However, I soon learned that none of the hooks I did get are really conducive to completing any of the projects in the book.  Rats!  (Just my luck.)  Joanne’s . . . here I come!

What a conundrum!  😀  That is what’s on my hook today.  Anyone have any favorite books, or links to share???  Purrrty please?

Later!

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Afghan Stitch, crochet books, crochet hooks, journal, learn a new craft, Tunisian Crochet, WIP, Works in progress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Learning Tunisian Crochet

  1. I am always a bit intrigued by this but as I haven’t got the hooks have never really made the effort to learn. I love your ‘most basic stitch’ and the colour that you have used s lovely. I shall let you continue to play and see if I get persuaded!

  2. Janice says:

    That book you got looks interesting, did u order it offline? I would love to do socks for my kids. I need to get the right hook and I also will be trying the Tunisian style. thx

  3. Using an afghan hook I’ve tried doing a square made of Tunisian sts. I was wondering how you’d go about making something besides a square, because it is so awkward for me.

Leave a Reply

