Knitting Journal . . . Seed Stitch II


Sooo . . . who says knitting is faster than crochet!?!  I beg to differ.  But, then again, I am still a beginner.  😀

I am working on learning the Seed Stitch II . . . according to:

The Complete Photo Guide to KNITTING by Margaret Hubert

This is a fabulous book!  The photos are terrific, and directions are fairly easy to follow.  I say ‘fairly’ because to me, learning to knit is like learning a new language.  I am completely  in foreign territory!

Here’s what I’ve got.  And, having nothing to compare to except the photos in my guide book . . . well let’s just say, my work looks like I am a beginner.  I will keep trying!

Here is what I aspire to . . .

Here is my swatch . . . or is it a project???  Skinny scarf maybe?

This is a really close ‘close-up’ view. Maybe I should back out a little.

Well??? I love this yarn. It is Caron’s Simply Soft Paints, ‘Spring Brook’ and size 10 1/2 needles.

Okay then . . . I should get off the computer and get busy.

Thanks for being there!

Toodles!

 

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Creativity, inspiration, journal, knitting, learn a new craft, Learning to knit, my list of things-to-do, On my sticks, yarn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Knitting Journal . . . Seed Stitch II

  1. No crochet is quicker but takes up more yarn. Your swatch/project is looking really good. I don’t know where you find all the time to be on the net and also to learn all these new things. Soo impressed! 🙂

  2. This is one of my ultimate favourite knitting books out there!!! Check out The Knitting Book by Frederica Patmore/Vikki Haffenden as well! 🙂

    • THANK YOU! I really appreciate it! I’m glad to know I picked a good one. I have another with drawings and diagrams. It’s still all greek to me. I will definitely check out The Knitting Book.

  3. Don’t worry about your knitting – it took me two different teachers and several years of work to really figure out crochet, in spite of my years of knitting. Yours looks great compared to my early crochet work!

  4. I completely believe crochet is faster. Probably because the stitches are bigger.

Leave a Reply

