7 Heart-Smart Reasons to Stay Active – Heart-Healthy Living – Everyday Health


Need some motivation to get moving? Listen to your heart! Discover what just 30 minutes of physical activity each day can do for your cardiovascular health.By Beth W. OrensteinMedically reviewed by Pat F. Bass III, MD, MPH

via 7 Heart-Smart Reasons to Stay Active – Heart-Healthy Living – Everyday Health.

exercise is good for your heart

I have been on a quest for a healthier lifestyle for the past 2 1/2 months or so.  I try to watch what (and how much) I eat, and regular exercise.  So far I have lost almost 20 lbs.  Slow and steady . . . this is the ‘healthy’ way to do it, right???  With any luck, I will reach my goal weight in about 5 or 6 months.  For me, exercise is kind of like getting a kid into the bathtub.  Harder than hell to get ’em there.  My motivation is thinking about what I looked like “before”.  My experience thus far has been, 1 hour a day, 5 – 6 days a week, or I don’t lose any weight.  Man, that’s a lot of work.  Plus, it takes away a lot of time that I would normally be crafting . . .

But, you know what they say, “No pain, no gain.”

So . . . speaking of the devil, gotta go get on the elliptical.

Toodles!

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in culture, Happiness, healthy living, journal, My quest to healthy living, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 7 Heart-Smart Reasons to Stay Active – Heart-Healthy Living – Everyday Health

  1. Crochet says:

    Lol!!! But it’s true crafting is sedentary….

  2. Good luck with your journey – view crafting as a reward!

  3. I have been on journey for a year now. Down 50 or 60 total but more if you count the ups and downs! Good for you. I started Yoga but can only go when I don’t hurt so bad lol

  4. Yoga for me is PEACE but lots of muscle building for sure

  5. 20 pounds is quite an accomplishment! There are a lot of days it takes monumental willpower for me to want to work out too. I find I do better with things that don’t require a lot of preparation and travel to begin.

Leave a Reply

