Joining Yarn – The invisible Braided Join with 1 color yarn – Knitting and Crochet – YouTube


Just sharing something new I learned today!  I can see how it would be invaluable when knitting, or with lacy crochet.

Such a simple concept!

via Joining Yarn – The invisible Braided Join with 1 color yarn – Knitting and Crochet – YouTube.

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in crochet, crochet tips and tricks, joining yarn, journal, knitting, video, yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Joining Yarn – The invisible Braided Join with 1 color yarn – Knitting and Crochet – YouTube

  1. reWOLLuzza says:

    Such a great find! I’ve never been happy with the Russian Join… why did I never come up with the idea of braiding?
    Thanks for pointing it out to us.

  2. I also hated the looks of the knot in joining the new yarn and couldn’t master the technique of the Russian,so really love this idea. I can hardly wait to try it on the afghan I am making. Thanks for having a brain cool enough to think of this!!!!!!

  3. GrandmaDonna says:

    I am so happy to have found this method! I’ve always been disappointed in my finished ‘woven-in’ ends…still bulky. Can’t wait to try this. Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. Coralyn Bell says:

    Thank you for that, will certainly use this in the future.

  5. Thelma Schoen says:

    What a wonderful technique. Thanks for sharing this with us.

  6. Lory says:

    Thank you so much, Ellen! I am a recently crochet obsessed individual in her early 50’s. Ok, my late 50’s but I am never too old to be impressed! I love this technique of joining yarn and I thank you for sharing this with all of us! I have learned a couple really cool knots for joining yarn and some of them are a lot faster than your method but, THEY ARE KNOTS! And even if the knot is barely visible, like The Princess and the Pea, it’s still a knot and I am going to feel it! I hate knots! Good for fishing line – not so good for crochet! So, thank you, again, for sharing this gem with me! I so appreciate it! I wish that I had paid attention while my own mother was still alive.

    • Thank you for your comments Lory! Glad you stopped by. I must confess, I have strayed from this method and have been using the dreaded ‘knot’ method as of late. :/ Only because it is so much quicker . . . and most of the time it is barely perceptible. BUT, there are those few projects which I do regret. In fact, I am looking at one r i g h t now. No frogging this one though. Too far along.
      Sooo…I will review and reconsider. Thank you again. 🙂

  7. Jeenee says:

    Thank you for that instructive video and the braided yarn join. What is the item or items in your top photo on this page? It looks lovely and I would love to see the bigger view. Thank you, Jeenee

Leave a Reply

