Crochet: Ripple variation


I got some new yarn stash.  (woo hoo!)  I am happy, but disappointed.  What I thought was the best deal I had EVER seen on Caron Simply Soft yarn, turned out to be skeins half the size I thought they were.  Turns out I could have gotten instant gratification by shopping at my local ___-mart store.  Live and learn!

Caron Simply Soft. One of my all-time favorite yarns.

Ripple swatch

a closer look . . .

I made a swatch so I can properly figure out how to make an afghan and get it to the right size this time.  Usually I just ‘wing-it’ and they end up too narrow, or too wide.

Multiples of 6 inches, plus 3.

Multiples of 16 chains, plus 14.

20 rows = 8 1/2 inches.

Crochet hook size J  (my go-to hook)

Caron Simply Soft Yarn, Country Blue

This is really just a conventional ripple, or chevron stitch, but short, and with chain stitches in between to give it a more ‘open’ look.

Figure your multiple number of chain stitches to get the width.  In the swatch = 46 ch.(wide enough for a lovely scarf)

terminology:  ch=chain;  sc= single crochet;  sk= skip;  rep= repeat;  ea= each;  dec= decrease

difficulty – easy  (The hardest part is getting started – row 1)

Row 1:  Ch 46, (or calculated number of stitches to create your project) turn,  work in the bottom loop of the chain *sc dec in the first 2 ch;  sc in the next 4 ch;  3 sc in the next ch;  sc in ea of the next 4 sc;   Ch 3, sk the next 3 ch.*  Rep * to * across, to the last 13 chains and work sc dec over 2 ch.  Sc in next 4 ch.  3 sc in next ch.  Sc in next 4 ch.  Sc dec over next  ch.  Ch 1, turn.

Row 2:  (working in the back loops only) Sc dec over the next 2 sc.  Sc in next 4 sc.  3 sc in next sc.  sc in next 4 sc.  Ch 3, sk 3ch, sc dec in next 2 sc.  sc in next 4 sc,  and so forth until the last ‘chevron’, ending with sc dec over next 2 sc;  sc in next 4 sc;  3 sc in next sc;  sc in next 4 sc; dec in the last 2 sc.  Ch 1, turn.

Repeat row 2 until desired length.

This pattern is beautifully worked changing colors every 10 or 20 rows;  or all in the same color.  You can finish with an edging, but I usually do not.

Here are a couple photos of an old ‘friend’ I keep on the sofa.  Don’t look too close . . . she’s not what she used to be!  😀

Trusty old friend. A lovely ripple throw

I realize this is not a pattern per se.  But , I am still trying my hand at that.

My worst nightmare is that someone tries this and it becomes their worst nightmare because they are unable to follow my direction.  :p

THANKS FOR LETTING ME SHARE!  

As always, your feedback is always welcome, and appreciated!  Hope you have had a wonderful weekend.  Happy stitching . . .

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in craft blog, crochet, crochet patterns, handmade, home decor, home fashion, journal, yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Crochet: Ripple variation

  1. Looks ok to me. Did you know that people who do patterns professionally have people who tech ed them for them to check for mistakes? E.g that there are the right number of stitches after increasses and decreases etc. They get paid for that too! That’s all you need and then you can stop worrying!

  2. Ok I had a go but I make round 2 end up with 47 stitches and not 46. Is it me misreading it (probably!)

    • You will always end with 5 single crochet stitches as follows: after the 3 sc (increase) are: sc in the next 4 sc, decrease in the last 2 sc. Chain 1, turn. (I never thought of counting the total number of stitches in the row!)

      • @ knitnrun4sanity: Were you able to figure it out??? I hope so! Sometimes when I can’t figure out a pattern, I put it down for awhile, kind of ‘sleep on it.” Please let me know if there is any better way I can help. I love this pattern. I hope you will too!

  3. I love reading your blog posts! Always nice to see what other crochet lovers are up to! Just wanted to let you know that I am nominating you for the “versatile blogger award”. I am still working on my list of 15 other bloggers since I am still fairly new to the blogging world 🙂

  4. greaseladder says:

    I love the look of your (old) throw and will definitely give this pattern a try.

  5. reWOLLuzza says:

    Isn’t it frustrating that almost everytime the ‘great’ deals turn out to be just the opposite?
    I wouldn’t worry about the pattern in your place… It’s free (I’d never get a free pattern tech-edited) and you can be contacted for advice if someone gets really stuck.

  6. Crochet says:

    Looks nice to me too, and I usually adapt a pattern, lol,,, no need to sweat it, lol!!!

  7. I want to make an afghan, and I can’t do my own math. 😛 🙂

Leave a Reply

