Wow, I was never a big fan of chunky weight yarn . . .


Golden

‘Golden’   Deborah Norville Collection Serenity Chunky Weight Yarn

I realize that this doesn’t really seem to be the time of year to be knitting, (or crocheting) with chunky weight yarn, but the weather here in Southeastern Washington has been just CRAZY.  There is supposed to be snow in the higher elevations tonight, and we have been using the heat, off and on, for the last week or so.

Anyway . . . as you may, or may not know, I recently acquired a new supply of knitting needles.  (hurray!!!)  I have also been delving into my yarn stash and came out with this fabulous yarn.  I am sure I must have gotten some kind of spectacular kind of deal.  I think it was some kind of ‘grab bag’.

I started this afternoon.  I picked my new size 15 needles.  I cast on 30 stitches and just started knitting.  Every row.  That’s the ‘garter stitch’, correct?  Haha, (I’m a pro now, by golly.)  This is actually . . . fun!

This feels like it will be a fabulous cowl, or scarf when I am done.  Might as well get a good start on Christmas, right???

It’s going pretty fast!

Back to the subject!  I have never really been a big fan of chunky weight yarn, but I am really loving the way this is working up by knitting instead of crochet.  Should I have doubled the yarn?  Then it would be super-chunky!  Bigger needles to do that?

I’m not brave enough to try a pattern yet.  I figure I will just keep knitting until it is the right size, yes?  (Is there a title before ‘novice’?)

Back to work!  Thanks for letting me share . . .

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Happiness, knitting, knitting needles, learn a new craft, Life, Productivity, style, Uncategorized, yarn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wow, I was never a big fan of chunky weight yarn . . .

  1. I admire the way that you just start knitting. I think that is a skill in its own reight and very liberating.

Leave a Reply

