Crochet Diagrams: I figured this one out . . . now what to do?


Awesome web page with many many crochet motif diagrams.

Minidečky – háčkované posbírané.

I am so happy that I decided (years and years ago) to subscribe to a magazine called “Magic Crochet”.  Does anyone remember it?  It went out of publication long ago and nearly broke my heart!  Anyway, that is how I learned to read crochet diagrams.  Any more, I seldom have the patience to read a written out pattern unless there is also a diagram.

This one diagram from Minidecky  in particular piqued my interest.  I have wanted to try the second diagram for some time now.  So, I sat down and studied it for awhile.  It did take a little bit of doing to sort it all out.  Then, I had that ‘aha’ moment!  😀

Here is what I tried.  One with size 10 crochet thread, and one with medium worsted weight cotton yarn.  This motif is just so . . . antique-ish looking.  I LOVE it!

Fancy crochet motif

This is very complicated looking, but once I got it figured out, it’s not so difficult!

So here it is on a dark background. I haven’t woven in the ends, or starched it yet.

I would love to make a large project with the motifs, but I haven’t yet figured out how to connect them as I go.  I am not one that is inclined to sew pieces together after making 150.  How tedious!  I am all about finding the easiest way to get a thing done.  Sometimes this philosophy can be a bit detrimental.  (sigh)

Here is the same motif done up in yarn.  Cotton worsted weight.  Which is one of all-time favorites to work with.

Large motif. I am enthralled with this pattern. I need help deciding what to do with it.

It’s hard to tell what it really looks like from the photo.  But it’s about 4 times as large as the one with thread.  Here are some photos of the two together:

Aren’t they cute together. 😀

small . . . and large

So . . . tell me what you think.  I could really use some ideas.  Purrrty please???

 

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in crochet, crochet links, crochet motifs, crochet patterns, journal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Crochet Diagrams: I figured this one out . . . now what to do?

  1. Crochet says:

    I love it!!! I’m working on some right at this moments….I’m reblogging…

  2. Crochet says:

    Reblogged this on DaniellaJoe's Blog and commented:
    These are so perfect!!!

  3. Crochet says:

    I like the thread version more, its beautiful and authentic looking. I say you try making a collar for a crochet blouse….

  4. thebeadden says:

    They are so beautiful! If I had made them I’d put some in a picture frame (maybe with an old amber or black and white photo, just to show them off! Just stunning! Great job!

  5. marissafh says:

    Yes, I remember ‘Magic Crochet’! I didn’t subscribe, but I have a few issues around here somewhere. Yes, I learned how to read crochet diagrams from that too! These motifs are so nice! I am really going to start a motif project this year!

  6. I too love it – can’t you just use them as coasters?

  7. Wow! Your work is fabulous. Definitely something for me to aspire to 😀 Avis x

  8. What synchronicity. I was looking for information on this motif — which I’ve made too. I found yur blog talking about it. I’m using mine as a part of a freeform sweater/jacket. I’d love to post the images of your motif on my blog. Let me know if I may. In the interim, I’ve posted a link to your lovely entry — it’s just a thrill to find others who like and have tried the same thing. Joy in the making!

  9. Ps. You posted this on my birthday! My blog is zencrochet.blogspot.com

  10. What a GORGEOUS motif…..I love it too!

  11. oh yes!!! I remember magic crochet magazine, a publication from France. That is where I learned diagrams as well and was crushed when they stopped publishing that magazine. This motif would make a stunning table cloth once you decide how to connect in an ongoing manner.

  12. jeannie colborn says:

    I would make a tunic but use a simple design between the squares instead. I would not want to take away from the art work

  13. WENDYCATS says:

    I have many, many issues of “Magic Crochet” from the 1970s. They are truly treasures!

  14. choco_bn says:

    faire des rideaux bretons, avec ce merveilleux carré

  15. Christine Bye says:

    I have some issues of magic Crochet. Wish I had some magic to make the time to Crochet such fine intricate work . These motifs you made are stunning. Why don’t you sew them onto a plain dress or sweater . Saw this done on Pinter’s. For joining I suggest you look on you tube for some tutorials. Also, Edie Eckman has some excellent books.

  16. Carolina Merino Martínez says:

    Beautiful. Thanks for sharing

  17. Hind says:

    awesome,i love this pattern,but it is very difficult to read the chat,will someone help pls

  18. CAROL says:

    This suggestion may be coming a little late to the game, but I’m very fond of the crocheted mesh that is so popular with Russian crocheters. I’ve watched some tutorials on it and it seems to be simple chains between each motif; the motifs are placed in a random pattern on a cloth pattern in the shape of a bodice or back or sleeve. Then you crochet simple chained mesh between the motifs. Of course, that means making quite a few more motifs. It would be a ONE OF A KIND.

  19. Darlene Hicks says:

    Just beautiful! Do you know which issue of Magic Crochet these were in? I have quite a few of these magazines but not this one. Thank you for sharing!!

    • Hello Darlene, these diagrams actually came from a webpage that (it appears) no longer exists! I do believe you could print the photo right from this page though.
      I had just pointed out that I learned to read crochet diagrams from Magic Crochet Magazine. That was way back in the 1980’s I think.
      Sorry I couldn’t be more help.

  20. Tricia says:

    Ho, I really loved it but I could not understand exactly where is the begin of that. Could you please tell me where I start from? Thanks
    Tricia

    • Hi Tricia! If you look carefully at the diagram, in the lower left-hand corner of the middle square-ish center, there is a big asterisk (*). That is where the beginning chain is. Looks like ch 21, sk the first 8 chs, dc in the next…

      Hope this helps!

  21. Bethy says:

    HOLA ESTAN PRECIOSAS TUS MUESTRAS…. LAS HE SACADO TODAS PARA MANTELERIA GRACIAS =)

  22. Bethy says:

    HOLA HERMOSAS MUESTRAS PARA MANTELERIA…. GRACIAS =)

  23. cheryan meser says:

    These are so beautiful. Years ago, I saw a very light weight sweater/jacket type wrap for summer weight dresses in a catalog that I coveted. I’m not much at crochet, but it looked like a very open and floral type of granny square put together with open airy stitches. It was waist length or just past and had 3/4 length sleeves. I think the neckline and front were v-neck. The whole thing was very feminine and airy and looked like it didn’t weigh much. I think any of these motifs would suit the style, but my personal preference would be the third one as it is the most open and floral. So my suggestion would be to make a beautiful summer topper in white or ivory cotton thread. If you do, I’d love to see a photo.

    • Thank you for your comments, Cheryan! It is so sad though, I have this disease called . . . I want to make all the things! all at once!!!! That and an seemingly endless yarn stash which is never, never enough!!! I promise I will look at this post again………

Leave a Reply

