My First Rectangular Rag Rug. Another “Something To Learn From”


I am in the middle of bartering for an antique walnut cannonball type bed frame.  This happens to be my fist experience with bartering, now that I think of it.

My friend Nancy and I went back and forth a little.  Well, a lot, actually.  She said “grey”.  I said, “Oh, I have a bunch of grey cotton yarn!”  Okay, so . . . what do you want in exchange for this lovely bed frame???  Potholders, dishrags . . . We finally decided a scatter rug for the kitchen, in front of the sink.  Hurrah!

Grey Cotton Worsted Weight Yarn

I thought I would try this double thick stitch for a rug . . . man-that’ll take FOREVER.  Ditched that plan.  Maybe a couple of potholders.

grey cotton on the spool.  It’s really not a yarn I would try for anything ‘special’.  Just dishrags, potholders and the like.  I hope I got a super deal on this one!

Seed Stitch with grey cotton. One strand is too flimsy for a rug. I don’t think there is enough yarn on the second spool to work a double strand. Darn it!

So now what to do???  Well, I thought, I’ll just make a nice oval area rug using the wrap method I used on this bag!  No luck there.  I made the initial row so long it would have ended up being 6 feet long!  Dad-gummit!  Tore that out too.  I guess this is what I get for not using a pattern.  (I would really love to have a great big area rug made this way though!)

Crochet technique working around a fabric strip

WELL!  On to “PLAN D”!  Remember this???

UFO rag somethin. haha

I tore this completely back and decided to make a rectangular rag rug.  I normally make them round.  More accurately, hexagonal.  Time to try something new.  I started this one out with a ‘no-chain’ single crochet foundation.  Too loose.  Turns out that might not be the greatest idea, unless you can use a slightly smaller hook to start out.  There is just too much variance between sizes when you are using a “Q” or “S” hook.  Lesson learned.  Use a chain stitch to begin.

In the end . . . I ditched the grey yarn altogether and went with some great fabric strips I have had in my stash.

Fabric strips. Notice, this batch lavender-ish fabric sure does fray a lot

I hope this is ‘grey’ enough.  If not, then I will go on to “PLAN-E” whatever that is.  And I’ll keep the rug too!  I love it.  You can see that there is a slight difference in the weight of fabrics though.  Or maybe not.  I am terribly critical of my own work.

TA DA . . . The finished product:

It’s not perfect, but . . . I LIKE IT! Does it say “GREY”???

The photos were taken after I washed and dried it.  I made sure to wash it using ‘heavy load’ and rinsed it twice.  Tumble dry.  Shake shake shake it out . . .

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in fabric strips, handmade, home decor, home fashion, journal, recycle, reuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My First Rectangular Rag Rug. Another “Something To Learn From”

  1. Love it! If it isn’t grey enough, fabric dye….. 😀

  2. I think it turned out very nice! Great post.

    J. G. Burdette
    http://byhookorbypen.wordpress.com/

  3. It turned out well and lets hope that all ends well 🙂 It is grey but I never knew there were shades of grey before now!

  4. hereismyspace says:

    I stumbled upon your blog while looking for an explanation of the crochet seed stitch, and I just love yours (with the grey yarn). I found several explanations and pictures on the web, and yours is really the look and design I would like to achieve; would you mind telling me how you do it, please? Thank you SO much for your help!

    • Hello! I am so glad you found me! I would love to help you out. This stitch pattern is so easy. Here it is in a nutshell:

      You work in multiples of 2 chs.

      Row 1 (The stitch guides will tell you that this is the right side, but this pattern is completely reversible.) Sc in second ch from hook, (ch 1, skip next ch, sc in next ch) across.
      Row 2: Ch 1, turn; sc in first sc and in next ch-1 sp,(ch 1, sc in next ch-1 sp) across to last sc, sc in last sc.
      Row 3: Ch 1, turn; sc in first sc, ch 1, (sc in next ch-1 sp, ch 1) across to last 2 sc,skip next sc, sc in last sc.
      Repeat Rows 2 and 3 for pattern.

      I am thinking about a blog post with pics! We’ll see how ambitious I am today . . .

  5. hereismyspace says:

    Thank you so much for your answer!
    I’m afraid I don’t know how to read a pattern yet, though 😦 I only taught myself only to do some simple crochet thanks to youtube, two months ago!
    So I’ll either try to get some help, or… wait for your pics 😉
    Thanks again!

    • Take a look at this video I found. I think maybe a video tutorial will help you more than a picture tutorial.
      Don’t worry about trying to change colors until you get more comfortable with your skills. I know you can do it! So, maybe write (or type) the pattern out and then follow along with the video, not crocheting yet until it starts to make sense. Then dive in! It is a fabulous stitch pattern that I know you will enjoy as much as I do. 🙂
      Here’s the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oy688KOuYUA

      • hereismyspace says:

        Wow, thanks! Videos are awesome to learn!
        But her example seems to be having more “holes” than yours, doesn’t it? unless it is only the row just after the foundation chain?
        Thanks again for your help!

      • This is the pattern I use. The only difference is . . . I always begin and end my projects with a row of single crochet in every chain or stitch. It makes for a nice finished look. That way no other border is needed! Hope that helps . . . 🙂

      • hereismyspace says:

        Great idea!!!
        Thanks!

Leave a Reply

