Learning To Make A Crochet Bead Rope


Happy Sunday to you.  I was very excited yesterday because the postman delivered a package holding something I have wanted since I began crocheting with beads:

Beadalon Spin-n-Bead

So, now to the task of using my new bead spinner ’til I get it right.  It was a bit frustrating at first. And let me tell you, that needle is sharp!

What to do with all those beads???

Well, I have been watching several video tutorials on how to make a Crochet Bead Rope for some time, hoping someday I could master this craft also.  Here’s my first chance!

I chose the nearest size 10 thread I had at hand, and some size 6/0 seed beads I had purchased in bulk thinking, if I give up in the middle at least I will not have wasted some nice beads.  Good thing I guess.

Strung beads! o/

I chose a video and got started!  Then I ripped it out, and started again!  And again . . .

Then I chose another video and tried again.  Voila!  By george I think I’ve got it.  Sorta.

crochet bead rope, beginning to take shape!

By the photos you can sure tell they are inexpensive beads.  I do not recommend you do that.  If your beads are not all very uniform in size, well . . . you will see by the following photos what happens.  And besides, they just look cheap, to me anyway.  They have been good for practice.

You can see what happens when bigger beads get in the way.

The bigger beads really caused some havoc.  So, I started breaking them off the strand with a pair of pliers.  This is what is called the ‘school of hard knocks’.  I broke the thread!!!!  Well, that was an experience.  Finally got re-attached, and the knot hidden.

Here's to humble beginnings!

So, here’s what I have got so far.  I will continue until I run out of beads, but this will never be a project.  Maybe a trophy of some sort I can leave somewhere as a reminder of my humble beginnings as a ‘crochet bead roper’.  😀

I need a neck massage, ’cause this really kinda stressed me out.  Can’t wait to make a real something.

Oh, almost forgot, here’s my google search:  https://www.google.com/search?client=qsb-win&rlz=1R3DKUS_enUS327&hl=en&q=crochet+beaded+rope+video

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in beaded crochet, Beaded Crochet Rope, crochet, handmade, journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learning To Make A Crochet Bead Rope

  1. I’m sorry you found this tricky as it is my to-do list. I was hoping that it wasn’t very tricky. Oh well. I suppose that if it is worth doing it has to be a bit of a challenge so you get a sense of achievement. 🙂

    • Tricky – yes. But I have a good feeling about this craft! Once you get the hang of it, it is not so bad. Getting started is the hardest part. Can’t wait to try a ‘real’ project with some awesome beads.

  2. caityrosey says:

    Looks to me like it would be tough to get he beads evenly distributed, particularly if they’re large. I wonder what one does with a beaded rope? Tree decorations? Jewelry? Flail?

Leave a Reply

