Simple “Seed Stitch” Throw


Yummy, soft afghan

This is one of the very first large(r) projects I ever made after I discovered how much I love working with worsted weight cotton yarn.  I think I crocheted with it non-stop for MONTHS.

This is not a ‘pattern’ per se, but more of a directive.  Mostly because I seriously did not write anything down as far as dimensions, amount of yarn used, etc.

dishcloths in seed stitch

dishcloths in seed stitch

Lavender dishcloth in seed stitch

What I can do though is provide some guidelines.  I went scrambling through my menagerie of pattern books to find “seed stitch’.  It is a really simple stitch.  One of my very favorites.  I like to make dishcloths with it.

So, now.  On to business.  Trial and error, that’s how I have made so many of my projects.  With most all medium weight, worsted weight yarns I usually use a “J” hook.

Seed Stitch

Multiple of 2 chs.

Row 1: (Right side)  Sc in second ch from hook, (ch 1 skip next ch, sc in next ch) across.  Row 2:  Ch 1, turn; sc in first sc and in next ch-1 sp, (ch 1, sc in next ch-1 sp) across to last sc, sc in last sc.  Row 3:  Ch 1, turn; sc in first sc, ch 1, (sc in next ch-1 sp, ch 1) across to last 2 sc, skip next sc, sc in last sc.  Repeat Rows 2 and 3 for pattern.

I found this fabulous cotton yarn which I use a lot!  It’s called Village Yarn Craft Cotton.  I buy it at Herrschner’s. There are about 3 dozen colors, including variegated colors.

• Great for pot holders, place mats, rugs, and more!
• Soft, 100% cotton medium weight yarn.
• Solid 2.5 oz/71g/120 yd/110m ball. Multi 2 oz/57g/95 yd/87m ball.
• Machine wash. Imported.
• Crochet gauge, size H-8 (5.0mm) hook/Knit gauge in st st, size 7 (4.5mm) needles: 20 sts and 24 rows = 4″ (10cm).

Also Available in 16 oz. (454g) Cones!

And there you have it.  This is the closest I have ever come to writing a pattern.

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in crochet, handmade, home decor, home fashion, style and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simple “Seed Stitch” Throw

  1. Seems good enough for me!

Leave a Reply

