My Grandmother’s Crochet . . . Floral Motif Tablecloth


Now we’re talking vintage!  This piece was given to my husband and me 35 years ago by my maternal grandmother Lucy.  I treasure it so!  (And I so envy her talent.)  It is a classic floral motif tablecloth.

I don’t often get this one out because I was always afraid of ruining it somehow.  You know, raising three children can be grueling at times.  Well, they are all grown now with children of their own.  I have been using this tablecloth as a photo prop when posting to my Etsy account here and there.

I am sure I could try to replicate it, but I am almost certain I would never finish it!  My patience only goes so far . . . = }

Snapped a few photos today.  If I could find my dining table maybe I would have included a picture of this fabulous tablecloth in it’s proper habitat!  Anyway, here ya go:

Vintage Crochet, floral motif tablecloth

Close up of of large motif.

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in crochet, handmade and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Grandmother’s Crochet . . . Floral Motif Tablecloth

  1. thebeadden says:

    Imagine the time spent on this! Gorgeous.

    • My grandmother was sooo talented. She was super fast. And she could just look at a thing crocheted and replicate it. I have some more of her things tucked away somewhere. Whenever I come across them again I will post them. So, stay tuned! Thanks for stopping by! 😀

  2. cristina says:

    YOU CAN GIVE ME THE PATTERN FOR THIS TABLECLOUTH PLEASE

  3. Rolonda R Mayer says:

    In case you do not know it, your pattern is called Queen Anne’s Lace. I too had a great aunt, Bess, who made a bedspread for me and a table cloth for my mother. We also have many of her other doilies, quilts, as well as some pottery she made. People had more time and less distraction in her day. My bedspread is stored away, too, but I did recently get out all the doilies, place mats, napkins, tablecloths, and vintage floral name place holders, individual floral baskets, antique bunnies and wire floral center pieces for Easter Sunday dinner. It took two days to set up and I am still taking it down, washing it, repairing it and putting it away. But it was a huge hit with my 30 year old daughter and her jaded friends. Not an easy task to pull off these days. I use the red feed sack and muslin quilt for a Xmas table cloth annually. I like the Queen Anne’s lace one for New Years. I try for a snow theme with it as a field of snow flakes. You are lucky to have such pieces around. Treasure them. Use them as often as you can stand to do so. They can be cleaned and mended if necessary. Just google around for instructions as I am sure you know. Using them is how you create memories for the next generation to love and save them. ❤

    • Thank you, Rolonda for your comments. Sounds like your great aunt Bess was as talented and thrifty as my Gramma Lucy (and my other grandmother, Margaret as well!) I am so grateful for all the treasures I have to help remember her by. Would that I had as much time (and talent) as they. ❤

  4. Maria says:

    Thank you so much for sharing it, I’ll try to replicate it as a curtain.

Leave a Reply

