Grandmother’s Buttons


I so thoroughly enjoyed this little project, I have to share.

Berry Cheery Beaded Crochet Cell Phone Charm

Berry Cheery Beaded Crochet Cell Phone Charm

Throughout this last summer and fall, I fell in love . . . with beads in my crochet!  Here are a few of the fun things I have done that actually DID make it to my Etsy shop:


Beaded Crochet Teal Blue Flower Cell Phone Charm, Zipper Pull

Beaded Crochet Teal Blue Flower Cell Phone Charm, Zipper Pull

 

 

Multicolored Drop Shell Crochet Jangle Bracelet Tan Nylon Thread

Multicolored Drop Shell Crochet Jangle Bracelet Tan Nylon Thread

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

During the Holiday Season I made several items for coworkers and friends.  In fact I featured a few in a previous blog post.  During this time a colleague (who I will call “J”) approached me with an idea that I found very touching.  And so . . . I have to share.  Apparently J’s mother was quite an extraordinary lady.  Without going into any details, I learned she had collected buttons over the years, and J is now in possession of said button collection.  Kept neatly organized in jars.  Many, many jars.  Color coordinated jars.  Now . . . learning this, I have become extremely envious of said button collection!  Anyway . . .  J has two lovely nieces.  J would like to give her nieces a gift that will have sentimental value, so her idea was for me to make each girl a bracelet wrap/necklace such as the one pictured above made up of Grandmother’s Buttons!  What a marvelous idea!  I love it!!!  Well, here they are!

 

Bracelet Wrap, Lavender with Lavender Nylon Thread

Vintage Button Bracelet Wrap, Pink

 

If I had a nice pretty young wrist . . . I might have modeled them for you too!  (wink)

 Thanks for letting me share.  This project has really meant a lot to me, as well as my friend J.

 

GMaEllen

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in bracelets, handmade, necklaces and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Grandmother’s Buttons

  1. Crochet and beads…Beautiful!
    ~Kim
    from Blogging Buddies team

  2. PS – Is there a way to follow your blog via GFC?

  3. Wonderful handmade items!
    Happy New Year!

    So nice to meet you through Etsy’s Blogging Buddies team.
    I am your newest blog follower!
    All the best,
    Mary
    Mixed-Media Map Art

  4. Dorothy Wong says:

    beautiful, I’m from Blogging Buddies and have subscribed to your blog. Here is mine: http://blog.therodmas.com

Leave a Reply

