“Why bother knitting a scarf?” : TreeHugger


Okay, so…I am not necessarily a “tree-hugger”.  But I came across this article and thought it interesting enough to share.  Please, give it a read!

“The act of knitting is a strange combination of relaxation and activism, of protest and tradition.”

Some main pointers of the article:

  • I’m creating a product of high quality.
  • Knitting is a way to reclaim independence.
  • Knitting can help a local industry.
  • Finally, it feels really good to make something by hand.

via “Why bother knitting a scarf?” : TreeHugger.

I really enjoyed reading the comments that follow this article and find that I identify with so many of the stories told there.  Do take the time to scroll through.

Both my maternal and paternal grandmothers were avid crocheters and I recall countless hours just watching them create beautiful things.  While they did not technically ‘teach’ me how to crochet, I found it a relatively easy thing to do once I decided to give it a try.  I had no doubt I could do it,  and I thought I was pretty clever.

I remember church Bazaars and Grandmother’s busy hands creating all manner of lovely things to sell.  My Gramma Margaret (my Father’s Mother) would buy Ripple Afghan kits which she would then make and sell for extra income.  Countless hours of crocheting, night after night.  This, after having already put in a long day, at a thankless job, standing in the heat of a hospital laundry.  I can see her now, like it was yesterday, falling asleep in front of the television with that crochet hook in her hand, a beautiful afghan across her lap and legs.

My first projects were simple Granny Square Afghans, which, over time I thought were so passe.  But, look around now, and they are everywhere!  ‘Everything old is new again’.  My favorite thing to do, for years, was to crochet beautifully decorated Christmas Ornaments, using crochet thread and ribbons, to give as gifts every year.  Some of our closest friends have enough to decorate an entire tree.  Now, those same decorations are being passed on to their grown children.  When I hear these stories, my heart just melts!

In the last (what…) two years or so, I taught myself to knit.  Which was a complete surprise to me, because I always said, “I will never . . . “.  Haha,  I still consider myself a ‘newbie’ knitter, and I will probably never become a Master Knitter, but, once I figured out my own way, (which, incidentally, is Continental Style, holding the yarn in your left hand, such as in crochet!) I have fallen in love again.  I am ‘bi-stitchual‘!  And trying to learn more, every day.

All that said, I thought I would just toss this in too.  LOL

Sooo, why bother knitting a scarf??? Or any other thing for that matter.  I believe the sheer satisfaction of having made a thing with your own two hands is well worth the effort.  And when given, and received with love, there is nothing that can compare, as evidenced here.  

Hello Jason!  (I told him I thought the hat was too big.  He said, "I'll grow into it."  Gotta love it!)

Hello Jason! (I told him I thought the hat was too big. He said, “I’ll grow into it.” Gotta love it!)

IMG_4479

My grandson Killian, in his new Shark Hat. He wore it for weeks! ALL THE TIME! :D

And here . . .

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Creativity, crochet, fugal living, handmade, handmade gifts, Happiness, Health and Wellbeing, Knit and Crochet, Life, My Favorite Things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Why bother knitting a scarf?” : TreeHugger

  1. I pretty much agree with all of the philosophy here. Well stated!

Leave a Reply

