Stitch Diva Blog – Learning to Lucet


Hellooo…I do hope this blog post finds you all doing well!  Happy Saturday!

I got a fabulous newsletter this morning in an email.  It immediately intrigued me!  I think I have seen this tool somewhere before, and I remember that it piqued my interest then too.  So, I thought if I blog it . . . I might dig a little further and learn a new craft.  Or, at the least perhaps, get one of my cyber-friends interested as well.  Hmm.  Let’s take a look.

To begin, let me just say, Stitch Diva Studios is a wonderful platform for patterns, yarn, kits, tools/accessories, books, tutorials and classes.

Lucet

“It’s a fiber arts tool from the Medieval / Viking era that makes different kinds of cording and it has just a tiny learning curve. After making about two 6″ cords, I felt like I’d reasonably mastered my tension: Just 2 evenings in front of the tv and I’ve added a new skill to my fiber arts repertoire.” – Jennifer Hansen

You can purchase a Lucet at Stitch Diva Studios.

Continue reading here:  Blog – Learning to Lucet.

And here is a link to other purchasing choices at Amazon.com.

After doing just a little bit of research, I have learned that you do not have to purchase a lucet at all.  If you are creative and resourceful, you can make your own.  Here is a plethora of information I got doing a simple Google search for lucet cords.  While I most likely would keep my usage of this new craft to the most basic uses (what am I saying!?), you can get quite creative!

Here is a  stunning necklace from For the love of beads.  (I, for one, have had a long-standing love of beads!  Which my overwhelming stash can attest to!)  This is very inspirational to me!  (If you click on the photo, it will take you to Mallory’s blog post.)  This website also has tutorials!  Wow!  More to add to my already-too-long list of ‘things to do’!

Mix it up – “I have been using different cords and yarns to make lucet cords in the hope of making one that I really liked. I’ve had no luck with that. I used bulky yarns and thin pearl cotton. I’ve used yarn from upcycled saaris. I’ve used nylon and cotton yarns. I’ve even used yarns that have sequins in it. No luck. Nothing appealed to me, until… Last night, before I went to bed, I put all of my lucet cords together to get them ready to store. When I woke up this morning, and I know it was dark, a light bulb went off in my brain, as well as, in the bedroom. This was the result, and I like it! I even wore it today.” – Mallory Hoffman, from For the Love of Beads.

Sooo…I hope this has been fuel for your creative ‘fire’!  *grin*  And I hope you are having a fabulous weekend as well.

 

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in beading ideas, craft blogs, Creativity, diy gifts, fugal living, gift ideas, handmade, inspiration, Jewelry, learn a new craft, many uses for stuff, renew, reuse, style, thread, Tips and tools, Tools for my creative inspiration, Yarn Destash and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Stitch Diva Blog – Learning to Lucet

  1. How lovely to hear from you again. My only comment is that i don’t need any more crafts…….;)

  2. Verónica says:

    I have one but haven’t tried it yet. Now I’ll have to!

  3. Lucets are really handy to have around! I use mine to quickly whip-up a close approximation of i-cord, if I’m in a hurry! There’s loads you can use them for. Have fun! pw x

    • Sooo, do you knit as well??? Just wondering if it is faster than actually knitting an i-cord. I am seriously thinking of getting one…working with beads looks promising as well!

      • I do! It’s like breathing :-) I find it’s faster than an i-cord, but doesn’t look exactly the same, so when you need something like an i-cord, but won’t notice the difference, it’s ideal. I’ve never used it for beading, but it looks interesting! Will follow you to see how you get on. pw x

      • Thank you for your comments. So, I am now seriously thinking I should have a Lucet. :)

  4. daniellajoe says:

    That is a very interesting Gma, as always you do excellent research :-) I am tempted but I really do not have time to invest in any new projects…..

Leave a Reply

