A Look at the Different Properties of Wool Yarns: Facts to Know In Selecting The Right Yarn for Your Project | Lion Brand Notebook


I thought I would share this blog post this from http://blog.lionbrand.com because I feel the need to broaden my horizons.  In all the years I have been crocheting, and now knitting, I have very rarely ever worked with wool yarn.  I am not sure if it’s a phobia, or what.  Maybe it’s the texture?  Costs associated?  The need for everything I make to be good ol’ “wash-n-wear”???  Or . . . just plain lack of knowledge.  So, I am going to take a good look at this article and perhaps bravely go where I have not gone before.  

Read the entire article here:  A Look at the Different Properties of Wool Yarns: Facts to Know In Selecting The Right Yarn for Your Project | Lion Brand Notebook.

Given a cursory look, I would have to say LB Collection Superwash Merino looks the most promising . . .

a merino yarn that has been treated in order to make the wool a machine washable yarn. A superwash wool can be machine washed without shrinking or felting because the process used to treat the wool flattens out the wool’s scales, keeping the wool from felting. Superwash Merino still takes dye easily as with other wools, and is great for garment making.”

or, perhaps Wool-Ease

a classic worsted weight wool blended with acrylic.  The acrylic blend in Wool-Ease allows this to be an easy-care yarn that can be machine washed and dried without felting, so it’s great for sweaters, accessories and toys.  Wool-Ease is also a favorite for afghans because it keeps you warm and cozy, can be thrown in the washing machine, and yet – it still withstands the test of time.”

This looks very nice though . . .

From our line of affordable, luxury fibers in our LB Collection is Organic Wool. Organic Wool is 100% organically produced and dyed with low impact dyes in 6 classic colors, certified according to Global Organic Textile Standards by the Institute of Marketcology.  Low impact dyes are better for the environment, and the organic wool comes from the fleece of sheep that have been raised naturally, with no chemical treatments.  Since this is an all natural wool yarn, it too, is suitable for felting.”

And as far as felting goes ? ? ?  Well, that is just foreign territory altogether ! ! !  (lol)  Truth be told, it doesn’t really appeal to me all that much.  But, I have never tried it . . .

After the holidays, perhaps I will lift the self-imposed spending freeze.  Until then, I will make do with the hoards of yarn I do have.  *sigh* . . .  *blush*  :)

Does anyone have any thoughts  or tips they would like to contribute???  I could sure use some advice.  

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in blog links, favorite blogs, journal, Lion Brand Yarn, my list of things-to-do, shopping, wool yarn, yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Look at the Different Properties of Wool Yarns: Facts to Know In Selecting The Right Yarn for Your Project | Lion Brand Notebook

  1. I’m just getting my woolly feet wet, too, and went right for the spinning tools.
    I adore wool-ease. Acrylic-tough and super soft, and nothing beats real wool for warmth.

  2. Brandyce says:

    Hi gmaellenscraftycorner! I’m so glad that you found this blog post useful, I hope your venture into working with wool goes well – it’s not that bad :-)
    Thanks for sharing the info!
    Best,
    Brandyce

  3. Wool-ease was the first “wool” I tried, back in college. It’s a good workhorse yarn. I haven’t tried the others, but superwash wool is usually pretty solid, easy stuff.

Leave a Reply

