Super Simple Single Crochet Hexagonal Dishcloth – Picture Tutorial


Completed dishcloth, with creamy loopy edging.

So, I will simply walk you through it with pictures…

Worsted weight cotton yarn. Boye size J crochet hook. You will also need a stitch marker and a size I crochet hook for the edging.

Round 1:  Chain 2. Work 6 single crochet into the first chain. Do not join.

Round 2: Work 2 single crochet into each stitch around. (12 sc) You will continue the pattern in rounds without joining.

Round 3: Single crochet in the first stitch. 2 single crochet into the next stitch (which is the increase from the previous row), sc in the next stitch and 2 sc in the next.  Continue around (18 sc)

Round 4 and beyond: Work a single crochet into each single crochet and an increase in each increase around. Continue in this manner until you reach the size you want.

Here is a close up of an increase, worked into the previous rows’ increase…

Now and again you will want to just take a look at your work. There is nothing worse that finding out you have missed an increase 12 rows back. Especially if you are working on a very large project.

I always find myself counting stitches between increases as I go around. But at some point, you will want to place a stitch marker to keep track of rounds. I put mine in the last stitch of the round.

So . . . this isn’t rocket science! This is how I decide how big to make my dishcloth. :D This one is actually a tad smaller than usual.

Changing colors for edging: On the last stitch of the last round, hold when you have two loops on your hook and finish the stitch with your new color.

Cut your first color of yarn leaving a tail of 3″ or so. As you continue just work around the tails of yarn, no need to sew in the ends!  Here, I switched to a size G hook.  It tightens up the stitches.  I do this because I just think the same size makes it look a little sloppy.  But, you can use whichever makes you happy.

OOPS, I forgot to take a picture here, but I am sure you can visualize it as we continue:

Edging round: Single crochet in the first stitch, chain three, single crochet in the next stitch around.

To end, work a half-double decrease.  Work one single crochet, chain one.

Yarn over, insert hook into the first single crochet of the round.

Yarn over and pull up a loop. You will now have three loops on your hook.

Yarn over and pull through all three loops on your hook. Fasten off and work in the end. Voila!

My new pretty. Folded in half, rolled and tucked into a votive candle holder.

With this pattern you can do soooo many things.  Don’t stop with dishcloths.  Keep stitching!  You can make rugs or blankets.  When you get to the diameter you want, continue with a single in every stitch and you can make hats, beanies, baskets, bags . . . the possibilities are endless!  Work in whatever medium makes you happy.

So…how’d I do??? :D

About gmaellenscraftycorner

I am a recently widowed, mother of three wonderful, grown children, G-Ma (Grandma) to seven beautiful grandchildren. I work full time at a nearby grocer as the Pricing Coordinator. In my spare time, I craft and blog. Crochet is my obsession, my compulsion. My best friend, my therapist. I also have learned I love to knit! Who knew??? I may never be a master knitter, but I am a happy knitter. :D Work, family, Women's Pool League, crafting and blogging. Pretty much takes up every waking minute of every day, but besides that I love movies and music (which I can enjoy while I am crafting!). And here I thought I didn't have a life! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog. I appreciate every click. :D My Etsy www.etsy.com/shop/gmaellen
This entry was posted in Cotton Yarn, Creativity, Crochet inspiration, crochet patterns, crochet tips and tricks, FO - finished objects, handmade, Happiness, home fashion, inspiration, joining yarn, stitch markers, style, yarn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Super Simple Single Crochet Hexagonal Dishcloth – Picture Tutorial

  1. Really, really great! Love it and now can put it on my to-do list!!

  2. Crochet says:

    Nice tutorial GMa, someday I will try to make a rug a big one lol!!!

  3. I love this! I love these colors, and your pictorial is awesome, very clear. Love the way you folded it onto a flower, too. A beautiful, functional work of art.

  4. Great post – I love how helpful your photos are. How do you do your set-up – a stand or another person to take your photos?

    • Why thank you! I really appreciate your comment. Set up??? I just wing it mostly. I wait for some good light, in through the living room window. I like natural lighting. No stand (what a great idea!), no photographer. Just lil ol’ me . . . lol

  5. Iam having a awful time , please help. Do I SC in first and then put 2 sc in each increase ? I love this dish rag but I can not get to work . Please help

    • Hi Linda, I can’t really tell where you are at from your question, but you have the right idea. You will put 2 sc in each increase. So, each row will have 6 increases, each increase into the previous row’s increase . . . I am so sorry you are having a hard time, please let me know if I can be of more help!

  6. Pingback: Star Dishcloth Crochet Pattern - Enchanted Savings

Leave a Reply

